Day of the Dead in México

in #photography6 years ago

I was lucky to be living in Mérida, México during the Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) festivities. It was a huge celebration in the city which was spread over many days.

I know many of us have experienced Halloween before, so it was awesome to see such an authentic version of it in its country of origin.

The streets were lit up all over the town, and lined with family altars on the doorsteps of many homes. Each altar was covered in offerings to the family's deceased loved ones, including favourite foods, water and candles.

The stand out experience for me was watching a parade walk all the way from the main cemetery into the city centre. It was a very solemn experience, and everyone watched the parade in silence with deep respect. It was honestly one of the most memorable experiences I've ever had travelling. To see this part of Mexican culture right in front of me was amazing.

I hope you enjoyed the photos and consider a visit to Mexico soon to explore it's incredible culture!


I'm a 25 year old photographer from Australia, who has been exploring North America for the past three years. I'm in love with the outdoors and love sharing my passion with others through my photos.

Please upvote, follow and resteem! Stay tuned for many more of my explorations!

Eleanor :)

Sort:  

what a wonderful experience .. what beautiful and amazing cultures .. I hope you repeat it again friend .. Successes .. Regards

It was a real stand out moment. The Mexican people are kind, generous and welcoming. I really loved it!

My dream is travel around the world, u inspire to do. So, good photos Sis.

Haha such a compliment, I'm so glad to hear it :) Keep the dream alive and make it a reality!

YES! I gonna do! See u!

Great photos!! Totally read this and didnt realise it was you at first.... I was like, wow how many other 25 year old aussies are there here!? haha

Hahaha I can imagine very few :D Glad you like the photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89