Sort:  

Takes a lot of patience and sitting completely still.
Any movement and they fly away.

A lesson to learn here: patence and dedication prize you

What camera are these taken with, and what sort of shutter speed are you using?

I think hummingbirds presented the first major challenges shooting with a manual lens (and on film) in 1992, so you are fortunate to have autofocus early on... believe it or not, but I now mostly shoot with manual focus... although autofocus is nice for getting things close.

It is hard to use autofocus on these fast little birds! The focus spot is often on the sky, therefore infinity. I usually manual focus on the bird feeder and then tweak it a tiny bit when the bird arrives.
Completely new to anything other than auto everything photography! ENjoying learning though :-)

This is super cool! I have 2 feeders and these guys come as early as 5 am every day. I love them. I shoot with a nikon D3200, I'll make a hummingbird post, in the mean time if I can add a link: www.fishieye.com

We have 12 or more feeders (lost count!). The hummers are most active early in the morning and just before sunset.

They're all amazing photos, but the 6th one is awesome! :)

Thank you! It is always interesting to see which picture people like best :-)

This is lovely i would love to be able to do this

Once you have hummingbirds coming regularly to a feeder, remove the feeders and sit very still close to where they were. It takes patience and being very still. Hand feeders available at amazon.

I don't think I have seen a humming bird where I live

I get a lot of pleasure looking at your pictures, hopefully one day I am lucky to experience this :)

thanks so much for that tidbit! :)

Congrats on this post going big, you deserve it! :)

Thanks! My first post. This is crazy! I'm so excited to add to my 6.6 BTC and steem power!

Good to hear! We all deserve being free from the evil banks by using blockchain technologies like steemit and making some hard earned money by blogging.

Very nice! Voted up and I am following you.

I've never seen this with hummingbirds before.

But one of my favorite childhood memories was sitting on the porch with my Grandpa in Arizona and sitting so still that the scrub jays would come eat peanuts from our hand or even take one from Grandpa's mouth!

Cool!! Interacting with nature is so much fun!

Brilliant. For me the best post I have seen on Steemit. Besides the feat of having the hummingbird feed from hand.... The photography is amazing

wow...thanks! My very first post. This is exciting :-)

Wonderful moments, the daughter you love animals, this is pure soul and holy @eileenbeach

Interacting with nature is the best :-)

Beautiful post. I Voted & also followed. dear @eileenbeach

please check my post i hope you like it: https://steemit.com/nature/@mrashid/today-my-focus-is-on-the-birds-beautiful-creation-of-god

I love birds. Check my post if you like my post please vote follow me @mrashid. Thanks for time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29