Sunset in Amsterdam - Dramatic Rain Front Collusion

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Several weeks ago this amazing weather change happened just in front of my apartment. A really heavy and dark rain mass passed over with a clear and sharp front dividing the super nice evening weather with a super dark patch.

I live in Amsterdam and we have more a sea climate then a land climate, and these clouds are generally build up when we have South West to North West winds (from direction of UK and the "Noordzee" or "Northsea"; the sea that is inbetween the Netherlands and the UK).

With just my iPhone 6s and no post processing whatsoever, I was quite amazed about the results. The reason I share this with you is to show that even with limited equipment (the iPhone 6s doesn't have a good camera, and it is a phone anyway, so much lower quality then even a decent snapchat camera) nice photographs can be taken.

I hope you like these photographs as well.


Shot in the direction of North West



Shot in the direction of South West

Both shots are taken less than 1 minute apart. That shows how radical the rainclouds were and how clear and sharp the front was. I see these type of rainclouds and fronts more often, but rarely so close to sunset.

Only two days later, I again took my iPhone out to take the shots below. No rainclouds this time, but still amazing colours. I must say, in reality the red, yellow and blue colours were more intense. But still, I think the results are quite ok.


Shot in the direction of North West



Panorama shot from South West to North East

NJOY

follow me @edje

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @edje.

Lovely photographs.....perspectives.....colours and views.

Wishing you all the best. Cheers.

Thanks! :)

You have a great eye. Beautiful work

Thanks so much!

Interesting post

The sky looks amazing! Very nice!!

I particular like the dark one, the first, it was such a nice event to see; I wish I was higher up so that I didn't had the building in front of me like on this photo.

nice! Up

Thanks man! :)

Really impressive! Very different sky from side to side, wow! Great pics, @edje !

Thanks so much!

Upvoted and resteemed :-)

ReSteem yes, but Upvote no. You still got one from me though!

Sometimes I am too sure ;-) Now you got a nice one :-)

Thanks very much! :) You dont write that many post!

That is very kind from you and even much appreciated for our reputation grow.

You're Welcome

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by edje from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85