Color Challenge Saturday Indigo- Blewit Mushroom

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My husband got into mushroom hunting this year and took me out a few times- I will be doing an in depth post, but today I thought I'd use this edible guy called a Blewit.

indigo mushroom.jpeg

For you mushroom lovers out there, it's not tasty raw, and it has enough flavor to hold its own as long as you don't cook it with anything too overpowering. For those of you like myself who has had to grow a taste for fungi, overpowering foods might be the way to go.

indigo mushroom2.jpeg

You can generally find these when the nights start getting cold, they like to grow in the natural compost on the ground around oaks and other hardwoods.



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls: @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  


fun about mushrooms!

Haha, perfect :)

Beautiful photos of some really cool mushrooms. Great post on eadibility factors too.
That first photo, combined with this new cosmic black background really jumped out at my forehead when I opened it. Looked to me like a 3D rendering of some sort...maybe an alien podship dropping off very small invaders into the woods in clandestine style. "Hurry up down the ladder, Myarkkpt, a squirrel might mistake you for a nut, and take you up into a tree". This here's 's a dangerous world for hazlenut-shaped nasties from outer space. Heres to hoping you have a nice Sunday today.

Awesome, thank you kindly! Alien podship, haha! Actually I am going to do a week's worth of mushroom color challenges I've decided, then end it all with a mushroom hunting post :)

My Sunday has been super eventful so far!

That sounds like a fun endeavor, I look forward to reading it. Mushrooms are fun to photo, and eat, if you know what you are doing. I don't, so it's photo only. Have a great Monday, as that is where we are now.

They look very delicate. Great photos. We don't get such pretty ones here.

They are, and actually it's incredible the diversity of mushrooms we have in this region. I look forward to posting more:)

Thanks!

That's a colourful little fun guy lol :)

You know I got a lot of love for ya and all, but I'm still going to give you some shit that it's been 22 days since I got to read chapter 8.
begin intense stare

Dude, hahahaha, okay, point taken. I'm on it ;)

But for tonight I'm getting drunk and listening to really loud music, dancing in my bedroom, headbanging too, whole nine lol!!!

Also, I'm in the lovey part of the buzz, so XXXOOO

LOL, have fun!

It's so pretty! And would have registered as potentially poisonous to me but I'm a long way from being anything even remotely resembling someone that has a clue about mushroom foraging XD

I love mushrooms :)

goatsig

I would've thought it was poisonous too!

Oh, I think every pretty mushroom is probably poisonous when I see it, I have been learning a lot!

Great post and very nice photos. Thanks For sharing dear

So nice and an awesome shot :)

Ach! That looks like plastic or gum. Nature truly is wonderful. Still too scared to just eat anything off the ground. I'm still in the mindset that most things are inedible haha! Bad childhood trauma. It's great that Howie is continuing with it though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44