An Upstate NY 'Mom and Pop Shop'- Flowers, Fudge, Fresh Produce and CIDER

in #photography7 years ago

110-01.jpeg



A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of visiting the town of Williamson NY. The reason it is a pleasure to visit is that it's filled to overflowing with orchards and farms, which means it has numerous 'mom and pop' shops with locally grown produce, and generally an assortment of other goodies.



147-01.jpeg

The above picture depicts my favorite of these small town stores. In part because it also has a beautiful array of hanging flowers adorning the walkway.

107-01.jpeg



109-01.jpeg



108-01.jpeg



106-01.jpeg



074-01.jpeg



075-01.jpeg

Isn't there something magnificent about all of these colors? I find it's very difficult not to be uplifted walking into a place like this.



129-01.jpeg

Seven different varieties of hard cider, their newest being Strawberry Rhubarb, YUM!


078-01.jpeg

Yes, that does say Fudge on the wall, and their homemade deliciousness is to die for.


077-01.jpeg



127-01.jpeg

I've been thinking about taking a shot at making my own beer for some time, I believe the next time I'm in the area I will be picking one of these up.

Dreemit's Drafts has a nice ring to it :)



081-01.jpeg



101-01.jpeg

I said this was my favorite in part because of the flowers. There is another reason, and that is on the other side of this store is a cidery/restaurant. If you look closely at the chalkboard you will see the words Live Music by Ed Iseley.

Ed Iseley just so happens to me my brother. I've been wanting to do a post about his show, but have been patiently waiting for the day that he finally joins us, so I can coincide the article with his Introduction for maximum exposure.

For a preview of the kind of talent he will be bringing to this platform, check out my previous post- Mom and a Brewery There is a video of him singing one of his original songs, with incredible guitar work and a harmonica solo at the end.



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Sort:  

WHAT! Haha! I guess that's why you, me and @meesterboom get along, because of our shared dream of one day crafting our own beer haha! I forgot the exact name I suggested for a shared corporation, so I'll freestyle some here (including you, of course):

Long-distance Lager
Continental Craft
Boom Brewery (Oh wait...)
Steem Suds

Okay, I may have overestimated my creative juices, let me just eat lunch first so I can refuel haha! As you can see, I based it off alliterations as well.

That entrance looks like the whole of ColorChallenge realized haha What is taking your brother so long to get here!? Happy Whiskey Wednesday needs to return post haste!

Man alive boom brewery sounds awesome but maybe not as awesome as..

Boom Dawg Beers

:0D

I won't argue with that! It's like his moniker is built for beers and brewing haha!

Hehe, maybe that's the origin story! ;0)

Dreemy Jedawg's Boomin' Brews! @meesterboom hee hee

Edit: Wait, maybe Jedawg's Dreemy Boomin' Brews

I prefer the second one haha Not because my name goes first hahaha! But, because I wouldn't want the "Dreemy" adjective to be wasted on me, and instead be used for the brewskies :D

Beautiful display of flowers.

Thank you :)

Welcome as always...keep steaming as am following to get more...thanks

Oh, how wonderful. I miss upstate NY so much. I lived in Albany for three years, and adored it. My husband is from there. We went to Glens Falls, Woodstock, and so many other wonderful places up there so often when we lived there. It's still our number one place to go for vacations, and I want a summer house there one day. Thank you for this perfect post.

It is a beautiful area, I'm fortunate to be here. We live near Ithaca, basically right between Cayuga and Seneca Lake (my parent's live right on Seneca). We moved to Florida for several years, then spent a year in the Ozark region of Missouri and half a year in North Carolina. And I can tell you I mistakenly took this area for granted having spent most of my life here. I don't anymore!

Thank you for your wonderful comment :)

Oh, I've been to Ithaca! What an amazing, cool town. You are very lucky to live near there. I'm from Florida, and am currently back in Florida, but I miss upstate NY so much. It's definitely one of my "happy places." I go back every chance I get.

Hope to see your brother in steemit soon ☺️ when you make beer by yourselves, you should defenitly make a post regarding that 😊

I hope the same! And yes, I would definitely do a beer making post. meesterboom, jedau and I are talking about doing it at the same time, I suggested the name jedawg's dreemy boomin' brewery lol!

He he ☺️ that's a cool name 👍

Nice pictures, I’m following you now.

Flowers, Ciders, Fudge and Great Pictures.
What more could you ask for haha.
This place looks absolutely beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51