I use GIMP since I don't have money to buy Photoshop. Do you?

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The GNU Image Manipulation Program (GIMP) is a very versatile piece of open source software which, at this moment, the strongest alternative to Adobe's Photoshop, the de facto choice for photo editing and processing. I as an average Indian can't afford to buy Photoshop and so I settle for GIMP. GIMP is cross platform and is available for download for GNU/Linux, Windows and OS X. Being open source in nature the GIMP enjoys the support of hundreds of developers and contributors who are constantly contributing to make the software better and more capable. The capabilities of the software is at par with what Photoshop has to offer. The setup is easy and light on system resources. The current version is 2.8.22 and can be downloaded from the official website, https://www.gimp.org.

I once tried to make a screen cast video based on GIMP , which was not that polished and professional. But I would like to share with you all. I thank you for stopping by to read this post and if you somehow liked, you can go ahead and watch the YouTube video as well. It is for an old version but most of the controls still remains the same.

Sort:  

I only ever use open source software. I have been using it for over 10 years now and I don't have any reason to buy proprietary software. GIMP is a great tool. I can't compare it to Photoshop since I never used Photoshop, but I have never felt the need for more than GIMP has to offer.

I love GIMP, I actually prefer it to PhotoShop, mostly because it's what I've become more familiar with. Some things just seem more intuitive to me on it than the Adobe alternative. Being open source is a big plus as well.

Congratulations @dreamzchm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35