Valencia "Fallas" Festival - Big Statues That Will Eventually Be Set On Fire

in #photography7 years ago

One of the most surprising things in Valencia, ever since we arrived, one day ago, is a sort of a festival called "Fallas". It's surprising from many, many angles, but I'm going to talk only about two of them in this post.

One is the noise, the other is the statues.

Let's start with the noise. Apparently, Valenciagos believe that if you make a lot of unexpected and powerful noises during this festival, you will cast away bad spirits. Hence, everybody and their mothers is throwing petards literally everywhere, every time.

In all honesty, I failed to grasp the logic behind this approach. I tried really hard to understand how will bad spirit be chased away if you will throw petards incessantly - and randomly - all day and all night long, but hey, I'm not from around here, what do I know?

Consequently, the streets of Valencia are sounding literally like a theater of war. Every few minutes a new petard explodes somewhere in your vicinity. Some are just snapping like a baby petard, but most of them are so powerful, you literally feel them inside your guts.

We had a pretty rough first night, much better described by @raluca here.

Probably, as time goes by, and with a lot of therapy, I may get to understand somehow this whole noise thing, but even if I will fail to do it, there's still hope, the festival will end on Sunday. The noise will, hopefully, end to, as all bad spirits have been casted away.

And that's the link with the statues: apart from the noise, another strange thing is that almost all the small piazzas in the city are filled with strange statues. They're not in a steampunk style, like in a local version of a Burning Man, but they'll still burn them. The style, as well as the actual meaning of the statues are still a mystery to me.

Here are just a few of them (some are just wood structures that will be set on fire on Sunday):


valencia-fallas-skeleton.JPG


valencia-fallas-small-group.JPG


valencia-fallas-big-group.JPG


valencia-falla-night.JPG


valencia-fallas-startrek-detail.JPG


valencia-falls-darth-vader.JPG


Hopefully, by Sunday, when all of these statues will be burned (don't ask me why), my understanding, as well as my overall acceptance of the Fallas festival will improve.

Will keep you posted.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

Hello. I wish you a good vacation. but I have a question for you. you were the initiator of that so that the steem and sbd fell to $ 1. but the question is why do you need it? Do not you suffer from this and the whole eco system of this site?

I don't know what you're talking about. :))) If you're talking about adjusting my price feed bias, I always stated that SBD should be pegged (if possible, to its initial pegged value, which was $1). There were reasons for that, having a look at the white paper may help you understand that.

Yes, I read the rules. just one of the users of our community wrote to me that you were the initiator of what happens to the Steem and sbd. but really what's your opinion on this issue? the more our crypto currencies cost, the more we earn and the more new users we accrue, again earning them

just one of the users of our community wrote to me that you were the initiator of what happens to the Steem and sbd

care to give me the name?

First of all, the fact that "I'm the initiator" is completely false, the price feed bias adjustment was started by other witnesses and I followed suit. I wish I would have started myself, but I missed this opportunity.

Second, I don't think you understand how the two currencies of the STEEM blockchain, SBD and STEEMIT, are working. Otherwise you wouldn't ask these questions.

It seems that you live under the impression that I intently push the price of SBD and STEEM to $1. If you can even fathom something as ridiculous as this, maybe this platform, and, generally speaking, cryptocurrency as a field of activity, is not for you.

I do not blame you for anything. just decided to understand how it happens. I was given one information by one user and I immediately decided to ask you. do not think anything wrong about me.

I will try not to "think anything wrong" but if you really want to understand how things work, do your homework and don't just trust random users without following them and understand them for at least a month. This is not Kansas anymore, Dorothy, this is completely censor free and anybody can say what they want. It's up to you to separate the truth from the lies (or, in this case, FUD). If you don't have time to read the white paper (which I highly recommend, it's better to get everything from the source), have a look at this post which tries to summarize the most important parts of the Steem platform:

https://steemit.com/@dragosroua/the-7-fundamental-questions-about-steemit

Pay attention to the money section and read through the entire post.

Steem On!

Thank you, I read it. sorry for my "hitting" on you.I wish you a good rest and mood)

That looks like fun @dragosroua, although maybe not so much the noise. Especially if it goes on late into the night,
It seems a shame to burn all those statues after all the work that's gone into them.
Looking forward to hearing how that bit goes.
Have a fun weekend!

Nice budy.. You're having fun in Valencia

cheers

This festival is really interesting great to know about it and great shots you shared @dragosroua thanks for sharing

Maybe it was haunted. so it will burn all, @dragosroua

Rituals are rituals. Run away you spirit otherwise i am going to explode petard

 isplayed on every corner all over the city are colourful ninots, giant papier-mâché figures often 20 feet tall or even more that have been paraded through the streets and then placed in fantasy groups to tower over excited spectators. Each one in some way satirises a political figure, or a soap star, or more exotic creatures from the movies, TV, sports idols, or simply imagination. Some of them are grotesque – others playful and charming – all are larger than life and up for public scrutiny. 

I also like this "Fallas" 

Thank you for the content with skilled photography <3

Amazing photography thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46