Missing Mountains - Bucegi

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender-8.jpg


There is this running competition in Romania, called "7500". The name comes from the positive level difference: 7500 meters. The total distance is 100km for the elite section and 54km for the hobby section. The meaning of the word "hobby" is debatable, though, in this context. I ran it last year and it's anything, but "hobby": you have to reach twice to peak Omu (2400+ meters) and go through some pretty technical descents.

But beyond running, what's making me run again and again at these crazy competitions is the beauty of nature.

The picture above was taken at half past 6AM during last year "7500" and the circular rocky formation is called "The Turkish Mecet" (mecet = "church" in Turkish). There's a deep sensation of sheer force just by being around that rock.

Spring is kicking in here, which means I will be soon running those mountains again.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as a Steemit witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Thanks, you should come visiting those mountains, they are really beautiful!

I am such a geek that when I look at this I think "Hey was that in Lord of The Rings?"

Its a great photograph.

Nope, not "Lord of The Rings" but I like how you think :) Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82