Kodak To Start Their Own Photo-centric Coin, KODAKCoin, ICO Planed For January 31st

in #photography7 years ago

In 2018, if you don't have a coin somewhere in your business processes, or at least a dash of blockchain, then you're out. You're obsolete, so last year, so out of business.

I confess that when I saw this news about Kodak launching their own token, I checked twice the domain, fearing I'm on theonion.com. Alas, I wasn't, and this is for real, Kodak will really launch their own token.

If you want to know a bit of the logic behind this move, here's what Kodak CEO, Jeff Clarke, said in the above news:

“For many in the tech industry, ‘blockchain’ and ‘cryptocurrency’ are hot buzzwords, but for photographers who’ve long struggled to assert control over their work and how it’s used, these buzzwords are the keys to solving what felt like an unsolvable problem".

The ICO is planned to start at the end of this month and it will be available:

to accredited investors from the U.S., UK, Canada and other select countries

I'm still curious how this will play out, though, as the news doesn't give any technical details, but it does give a link: kodakcoin.com. So if you want to know more, check out that link and, in the meantime, dust off that old camera, you may be richer than you think.

P.S. Apparently, after the news broke out, Kodak shares are up by 120%.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

they give you b/w photos for coins ?

nope, the other way around, it seems..

so you take pictures and you can sell them in coins ?

probably, the news is not very clear about that...

any ideea how can i invest some money >?

it starts on January 31st, look at http://kodakcoin.com, although you need to be an accredited investor.

Hah adding crypto/blockchain increase company value these days without even a working product. :(

time to start collecting kodak memories lol haha :)

Kodak stock up 117% at close. This is taken from the Dot-com bubble wiki: "As a result of the rapidly-increasing usage of the Internet, many investors were eager to invest, at any valuation, in any company that had one of the Internet-related prefixes or a ".com" suffix in its name, leading to a stock market bubble." - does this sound familiar?

wow i just saw this.. i'm looking into a few others right now, like WAX, but a photo/camera based crypto!? cool!

It could be cool. It could be a complete waste of time. I hope it's the former, but I'm afraid it might be the latter - what problem does this solve? Why do I need a separate coin to buy rights to digital photos?


With ICOs like this coming out left and right, I feel more comfortable investing in cross-chain enablement coins like ARK.

Interesting. As someone who works in the film business, I'm very curious to see how this takes shape. Thanks for sharing!

Interesting idea although I feel like failing companies all want to launch a coin or mention crypto/blockchain simply to increase their stock price

I think the Kodak coin is supposed to act as way to digitally manage the rights concerning your photos. You can use it to register your works as well as to receive payments for people using your photos/videos.

I was about to comment the same. That's what I got from

but for photographers who’ve long struggled to assert control over their work and how it’s used, these buzzwords are the keys to solving what felt like an unsolvable problem

Kodak shares up 120%? Has the world gone mad? I swear, with all the goofy, empty shell coins coming straight out of marketing bullshit, if STEEM doesn't hit AT LEAST $20 this year nothing makes any sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55