A night out enjoying Carnival in Montevideo, Uruguay.

in #photography7 years ago


DSC00875.JPG

Last night I went with Silvina, my friend from Argentina, to see the Carnival in Montevideo. February is the month when all these celebrations happen: lots of fun, parades, drums, dancing, costumes and more. Everyone goes out to the streets to see this huge event that is a big part of our culture.

Uruguay has the longer lasting Carnival in the world, with 40 days of celebrations in the streets. Its all about Candombe, the traditional rhythm that is played with the also traditional drums. There are three kinds of drums used to play Candombe: Piano, Chico and Repique. Each one of them has a unique sound and is played differently, and when the sound of the three merge, you create our most traditional and representative rhythm.

We had lots of fun drinking beers and watching the "llamadas" which is how the aggrupations are called. Each one of them have some dancers, usually wearing little clothes, some guys waving massive flags, and the drummers that play the music. All of them wearing colorful and shiny costumes.

Here are some pictures from last night. I am not happy with the quality of most of them, since there is lots of movement, not a lot of light, and I have had a couple of beers, all this made it difficult to get the perfect shots with sharp and clear focus. Still... they are alright for you to get an idea of what Carnival looks like here in Uruguay. Hope you like them and thanks for your support!!


DSC00877.JPG

DSC00833.JPG

DSC00830.JPG

DSC00807.JPG

DSC00839.JPG

DSC00842.JPG

DSC00851.JPG

DSC00858.JPG

DSC00860.JPG


Sort:  

I really like all the carnivals and celebration feasts in South America. So much rhythm, joy and true happiness.
Thanks for sharing a glimpse of the experience with us. :)

Now that looks like fun!

agreed^^

Fantastic snaps of the event! Here in Italy it also Carnaval time but you can't even compare it with what is going on there in Uruguay. So impressive! Lucky you to have a possibility to participate in such beauty! :)

That seems Fun...I cant wait for the Summer to get my body tanned again But Aghh!!! This Snowy Winter!!!

Amazing @dontstopmenow !! I love this :) I can hear the music from here! Actually, I was thinking about that? Maybe record a clip of sound from there and upload it to DSound? It's so amazing to hear atmospheres around other people in their daily life :) Cheers, my friend!

Yeah bro, definitely! I have some videos from that night, going to be editing and uploading them soon. Probably to DTube because the images are really interesting in my opinion. I love sharing part of my culture with this community!

See you around man!

I was never the biggest fan of carnival.

Although I have Danced for 3 or 4 years in the carnival parade in a city close to mine cause my friends love it and I just loved to spend time and do things with them...

Long time ago when I was Younger ehehhehe

love the colorful costumes! pretty good shots for having some beers bruno :P

hahaha Thanks Jess!!

Yeah the costumes are really cool, lots of behind the scenes throughout the year.

Man the colors truly pop in these pictures. Looks like so much fun.

It was a lot of fun, for sure!

Will be uploading some of that to DTube soon ;)

Hermosas fotos de las Llamadas, parece que estuvo espectacular!! :)

Si, muy bueno la verdad, pasamos re lindo.

Saludos!!

debe ser difícil movilizarse con esos enormes trajes, :D saludos hermano

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 59417.78
ETH 2588.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45