ColorChallenge: Tuesday Orange - Fushimi Inari Tori Gates

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Fushimi Inari Shrine in Kyoto, Japan.

I spent about $100/day on my one week excursion with a very good high school friend. Her family had been stationed out in Japan when she was a kid and always wanted to come back to the beautiful country of Japan. We planned this trip about 3 months out with all of the works: hostels, JRail Line, food, and everything else to the single hair (or rice in this instance). 7 days in 4 Japanese cities (Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, and Hiroshima) were not enough. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Most definitely.

Not my best photo in terms of style and composure but this picture reminds me of great memories. I took this photo with what I consider my first camera, a Canon Powershot (right in the midst of the camera phone boom). The camera was not quite as powerful or even remotely close as a DSLR but definitely the camera that did the job when I traveled abroad then. It was on this trip that my aspiration for photography bloomed.

I yearn to visit Japan again with the equipment and experience I have now. Not only to take some dope pics but also to explore a country I have only turned a page in.

Sort:  

Nice Photo! You must've gotten there early. When we went to J-Pan last year, it was just flooded with tourists all wanting that classic thousand gate shot

Congratulations @domnom! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65