Weekend Travel Challenge #4 – You will never be complete in your travels even in your own city

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

This weekend I decided to stay at my hometown because there was October Fest nearby and there were no tickets available for almost every city, which is kind of a big issue for me as I found :)

Anyways, I did an experiment and on Saturday I attended Ocotber Fest that was taking its place in the first outlet village in Ukraine – Manufactura.

To be honest, it impressed me with unique architecture that is very similar to what Amsterdam has. I’m not sure whether it was done in purpose or not but they did an excellent job in design.

At the same time, October Fest was kind of boring. There were only 3 representatives of private breweries: "Browar Hof", "Cosmopolite" and "Frau Rose". I tried Browar Hof, and indeed it was real and tasty beer.

I’m not sure why but the number of people was pretty low. Probably the reason for that is because it wasn’t marketed properly. On top of that Manufactura is a novel place, most of the people are not even aware of its existence :)

Sunday was also quite awesome. I met a new person of one of my friends and we were hanging out for the entire day in the center.

To my surprise we went to Lysa Hora (aka Bald Mountain), which is basically a hill in the middle of Kiev. The reason why it has such name is because there was no trees on the top of it literally.

Also this location is popular because of legend which describes the largest witch gatherings on the exact same spot. Interesting story I should say.


This day was kind of intense and we were hiking a lot. What I figured is that no matter where you live, you can always find out something new in your city that chances are you’ve missed. Even if you’ve lived there for your whole life, you can be surprised significantly.


Comment, upvote or repost will be very much appreciated :)

Your friend, Dmitriy.

Sort:  

Absolutely great pictures and I am now of a mind to try Browar Hof!

Nice pictures and interesting post, thank you. We often dont know many interesting placies near we live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57574.67
ETH 2368.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42