Grandma Lil's Bishop's Bread Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #photography11 months ago

image_search_1685374248877.jpg
This is a family heritage recipe and it’s been on my list of things to make for the blog for a while. I’ve actually kind of been saving it because I knew it would be an easy one to write about since there history in it. Well, my history at least. Actually, my grandma Meme said her mom (Lil) got this recipe from a magazine so it’s not all that historic but the fact that it has made it through 4 generations seems enough to talk about.

image_search_1685374204845.jpg
I never had the privilege of getting to know my great grandmother Lilian but I’ve grown up hearing only wonderful things about her. I only have memory of visiting her home in California once before she died and I was really too young to remember much of it. I don’t even think I had turned 3 yet. What I do remember is the feelings and the smells and her sweet and loving spirit.
image_search_1685374186435.jpg
Lil's Bishop's Bread..jpg
It seems really silly now, but the movies Mulan and Bug’s Life were released right around the time we were visiting and they will forever remind me of being in Grandma Lil’s house. I actually have an old picture somewhere of me falling asleep on her lap while watching Bug’s Life. Like I said, it’s silly but I really love those movies because of the memories. Warm fuzzies, you know?

image_search_1685374177183.jpg

Lil's Bishop's Bread (3).jpg
So you may be wondering what exactly is Bishop’s Bread. Well it’s really just a fancy name for coffee cake, but it’s a really good coffee cake. I wanted to keep the recipe as close to the original a possible but you know I can’t help tweaking things just a bit. I’ve made it a few times before and I grew up eating it when Meme made it but there were 4 little things that I thought could be improved on.

image_search_1685374165123.jpg
Lil's Bishop's Bread (9).jpg
Firstly, there is this issue of the center sometimes being stubborn to finish baking before the edges burned. We never minded eating it a bit gooey but for serving to guests you probably want a perfect cake every time so I tweaked this by baking it in sections. I also used a 10 inch round springform instead of the 9 x 9 inch pan that the recipe calls for. Although the 9 x 9 will still work.

image_search_1685374147285.jpg
Lil's Bishop's Bread (6).jpg
Secondly, the recipe uses shortening as the fat but I prefer to mix butter and shortening in most of my recipe because it give it richer flavor. Oh, and I recommend using organic shortening, but you can also sub palm oil, or coconut oil and I’ve even used lard. Just please don’t use Crisco because that stuff will kill you, yuck.

image_search_1685374243016.jpg
Lil's Bishop's Bread (4).jpg
The third thing was not really a necessary change (even though it I think it was). My favorite part was always the crumb topping and the that is the part of the recipe that I’ve always found so clever. The recipe short-cuts things by having you mix the first half of ingredients and then just take out part for the crumb topping. Brilliant right? So I decided to double this and do a layer of crumb in the middle as well. Can you say win win!

image_search_1685374227570.jpg
Lil's Bishop's Bread (5).jpg
The fourth and last little tweak is hardly enough to mention. I just bumped up the flavor a little by adding vanilla, because I’m a fanatic, and some extra salt and cinnamon.

image_search_1685374216030.jpg
Lil's Bishop's Bread (8).jpg
I really hope you try this because there is something so poetic about sharing a recipe of my grandmother’s. I love imagining people out there trying it and I’d love to know if you do!

image_search_1685374165123.jpg
Gringalicious-border.png
As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.
ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:
White Cheddar Roasted Cauliflower & Broccoli Soup (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

Tiny Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

Lightened Up Spinach & Hearts of Palm Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

Golden & Flaky Phyllo Crusted Turkey Pot Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

Fried Jalapeño Popper Mac'n'Cheese Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Marshmallows (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

National French Fry Day: Chilean Chorrillana Eggs + Beef Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!!

PicMonkey Collage.png

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to
UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84