A Church Made of Real Human Bones: Kutna Hora (My Photos Free to Use)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

Those are some photos I captured in my trip to Czech Republic. The place is in Bohemia - Kostnice, and is called Sedlec Ossuary or "Church of Bones". It's a church made of 40.000 real human bones; they're used as decoration all over the place. It is indeed grotesque but incredibly enchanting, and the church is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Those are the bones of people who died as a result of the plague in the 14th century (also known as Black Death) and were buried in a mass grave.

The place has been home to many movies and documentaries, but it's definitely a must to go and breathe the environment. I personally do not think that any photo, documentary or movie can really capture the spirit of the church.

When I was in the church, I was triggered into contemplating about the ethical aspect of such an architecture and understanding of art. I could not end up in a final decision, I just oscillated between a "yes please" or "hell no". I just sat there and watched the place for almost 2 hours, and left in a complete confusion.

These all reminded me of the dark atmosphere that one can experience in Edgar Allan Poe's poems. Wondering what Poe's comment on this place would be.

Can anyone say that this is not glorious? Can anyone say that this is?

The coat of arms of the royal family of the time. Dieu et mon droit!

The artistic wholeness of the disaggregated ironies: Christ, wish coins and the skulls of the dead. All in all it was a deathless visit to the pondering of death. Strongly recommended if you happen to be around Kostnice, which is about 1 hour drive from Prague.

Thank you for viewing the post! Do not hesitate to comment.

Sort:  

Amazing place!

definitely must-see

yep, I find it quite controversial but also I'm entirely enchanted.

@dimitrat - Unique pics which say a lot about this very interesting Church. I can literally feel the goosebumps you would have felt from your pics!

Btw, that last pic - life, death & everything in-between 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44