digitalis - macro photography tips

in #photography7 years ago

all my macro here are all shot by 60mm f2.8D. except the last one.

Today, i went out to shot. thou i not expect to find new insects. its around 1pm-3pm. since it will be just a 2hr shooting. Hope you enjoy what i handheld captured.

Oh, I was not able to charged my external flash battery.
All shots here used the builtin flash of D80. what i did is enable the auto ISO to compensate the exposure. am sure it will come out darker and less details. compared if i used my SB800.

DSC_6927.JPG
Model NIKON D80
Shutter Speed 1/160 s
F-Number f/13
ISO ISO 100
Exposure Bias Value 0.00 eV
Metering Mode Spot
Flash Auto, Fired, Return detected
Focal Length 60 mm
Lens Model 60 mm f/2.8
White Balance Details Auto
Date/Time Original 7/5/2017 2:39:10 PM

DSC_6869.JPG
Model NIKON D80
Shutter Speed 1/160 s
F-Number f/16
ISO ISO 100
Exposure Bias Value 0.00 eV
Metering Mode Spot
Flash Auto, Fired, Return detected
Focal Length 60 mm
Lens Model 60 mm f/2.8
White Balance Details Auto
Date/Time Original 7/5/2017 2:19:38 PM

DSC_6885.JPG
Model NIKON D80
Shutter Speed 1/160 s
F-Number f/13
ISO ISO 100
Exposure Bias Value 0.00 eV
Metering Mode Spot
Flash Auto, Fired, Return detected
Focal Length 60 mm
Lens Model 60 mm f/2.8
White Balance Details Auto
Date/Time Original 7/5/2017 2:26:29 PM

DSC_6886.JPG

just to let you guys know. with external flash or a macro flash ( i not have one ). using the same lens and camera. it will give a different result. here's an ex. i even use f/22 and details and exposure seem ok. :)

DSC_8010.JPG
Model NIKON D80
Shutter Speed 1/200 s
F-Number f/22
ISO ISO 160
Exposure Bias Value 0.00 eV
Metering Mode Spot
Flash Auto, Fired, Return detected
Focal Length 60 mm
Lens Model 60 mm f/2.8
White Balance Details Auto
Date/Time Original 1/5/2017 1:47:22 PM

The difference is noticable even with my four eyes :)
I hope someday i can post how i shot macro for others to learn too.

Sort:  

Excellent photos and very good advice for macro shooting @digitalis. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thank You for the support :)

Wow! Looking forward to more posts from you. Check out my blog and follow if you're interested.

Thanks, followed :)

All excellent but that last shot is amazing.

thanks. yes the last one had a good light source.

Thanks for taking time out to explain the process. That last shot is simply superb!

Yep. I hope people will understand. i confuse readers most of the time :)

That last one is amazing, but I love them all!

These are super detailed an so interesting to see the bugs up close!

Those bugs are very interesting, I don't know if I'm familiar with them, but then again i have never seen one that up close! 😂 Have s beautiful day

i will put the names on my future post. :) before i go into my hobby photography. i dont know the names of the birds and insects i shot. :) Likewise, have a nice day. Thanks

Very very nice .... and thanks for all the technical info. I'm trying to do some macro myself, but I'm just starting!! great post.

resteemed still in voting jail :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90