Original: Holding a Piece of History on my Hand

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Today, I met a friend who gave me some old coins that he found buried in Lebanon a long time ago and never knew what to do with them.

Since I am not an expert on old coins I will ask for anyone who knows about the below pieces, if you can please let me know if they are Roman coins? which I suspect they are after doing some lazy 10 minutes online search.
And what do you think the value of the coins are worth if they have any value?

20180127_213004.jpg

20180127_213102.jpg

20180127_212418.jpg

20180127_212343.jpg

20180127_212752.jpg

If anyone is familiar with the above coins or dealt with something similar, @digdaga will appreciate your help what to do with them.

Sort:  

The Roman empire lasted at least 600 years in its prime and spanned the entire continent so they could be Roman but also could be Greek or from the ottoman empire. If you are interested in cleaning them I suggest soaking them in olive oil for a few months and then in distilled water. I had some really rough Roman coins, many of them where worn beyond recognition but a few cleaned up perfectly.

Thank you for this valuable information, very much appreciated and I am going to soak them right now in olive oil and see what happens later.

It won't be instant, patience and time. Just put them out of site and out of mind and have a look in a month

I got all the time and patience, one of my Investment strategies is holding for 5 to 10 years the things I see have potential to become valuable, Thanks again for the tip.

It's cool brother. Good information for

This post has received gratitude of 1.52 % from @appreciator thanks to: @digdaga.

I am not a coin expert at all. That is really cool though to have a piece of history that old

what is even cooler is to have 2000 years old coins as well as to hold some coins of the future :)

@digdaga
I think, i have to make my own research cuz i really dont know if its the exact coin that am actually thinking about.

Thanks for sharig this post.

Thank you @joseph-jnr I am also doing some research on them, I can tell they are a couple of thousand years old and probably from the Roman empire but that's about it, I still don't know if they are gold, silver, zinc, and how to clean them and how much they are worth.

Such a cool think.
The normal here is talk about the new coin 😂

Theses coins have more 2k years. Just a small difference ahah

About the information... Well I don't know anything about... 😕

The Irony of having thousand years old coins with future blockchain coins, thank you for your usual support, very much appreciated.

Indeed ahahah
You welcome man!

Keep the nice work!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39