Walking on an ancient Roman aqueduct - Original Work

in #photography7 years ago

So since I've been working my way through our Israel travel photos I thought I would take the time to post a couple of my faves here.

While we were in Israel we took the time to check out some of the amazing historical scenery the country has to offer, and one such offering is the ancient city of Caesarea. There are a ton of neat things to see around this place, though it has become a pretty busy tourist spot. One of the highlights of visiting is the remains of the Roman aqueduct that one brought fresh water directly to the city (plus it's free to see it!)

The remains of the aqueduct are actually all outside of the modern excavated area, and right beside the beautiful beach, which means that the aqueduct is now basically buried under a sand dune.

You can walk right up to the structure, climb on top and walk along it which is really cool. You can see the arches and even in some parts the channels where the water used to run through. It's a pretty incredible thing to see this ancient marvel of engineering.

Here are some shots of the exposed, broken end of the aqueduct that opens up at the beach, it's pretty cool to see how well preserved and intact it is, despite it not really even being protected.

The arches still look almost perfect.

Here's what it looks like from on top of the Aqueduct, it's all full of sand and has plants and trees growing in it now.

Sabrina took some photos of me walking along the aqueduct and taking photos.

That's me! In full travel mode, not givin a hoot, just chillin' on an aqueduct, no big deal... hahaha.

I got some shots of Sabrina on the aqueduct too! You can see how the top of the aqueduct basically forms the spine of a sand dune now.

Sabrina took the opportunity to go for a leisurely roll down the luxuriant sand.

I think she enjoyed it.

Heading back down the aqueduct!

That's it for today folks! Next up I'll be posting some photos from the excavated city of Caesarea, and following on to the sea of Galilee! As always if you enjoyed this post feel free to toss me one of those sweet sweet upvotes, you know I always appreciate them! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to keep up with our travels and see new original content all the time.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

@dexter-k, awesome post my friend.

Thanks so much @runridefly, glad you like it man :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93