Shot on film: Portrait of a groom in Mexico

in #photography6 years ago

A few years back we had the incredible opportunity to photograph this couple in one of the most amazing wedding venues in the world, a place called Cuixmala in Mexico. The groom is a photographer himself and asked if I could bring along my film camera and a few rolls of black and white to capture some extra film shots during the day, so I said sure!

I ended up hauling along my Mamiya 645afd with the infamous 80mm f1.9 lens and a neutral density filter along with my trusty Nikon D3S the whole day. My shoulders were bruised by the end of the wedding from the weight of those two beasts, but we ended up getting some pretty awesome shots.

This was by far my favorite film shot of the day, it's tack sharp, completely in focus, and the exposure was spot on as well, not an easy combination to accomplish when you are doing stop down metering with a neutral density filter attached and shooting at f1.9 on a medium format camera... hand held!

Hope you like it :)

Dallas & Sabrina Photography-37.jpg

Sort:  

You Looking so Cool and Professional Pictures

I love that medium format look. It just has a timeless quality to it thats hard to replicate on DSLR.

"My shoulders were bruised by the end of the wedding from the weight of those two beasts"

The main important thing is the awesome photos! I love the B/W tone, looks vintage and calming.

That's a pretty amazing shot so cool :)

Perfectly captured, the light balance, the greys and the boke gives to the image a stunning tridimensional effect!

good post ... i love this

Nikon D3S - great model. .I wish you creative success and new achievements: photos and videos.

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95