Bathroom selfies: A continuing wedding photographer's project (original work)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

My wife and I have been working as professional wedding photographers for about 5 years now. We started our business pretty much as soon as we got married, and we were fortunate enough to be able to go full time with it just about 6 months after we started. Since that time I have been doing a project, kind of off and on, where I would take a selfie some time during or after the wedding day.

My goal more than anything was really to just keep building on a personal project, but also to document the way I looked after or during the wedding day. Soon enough I started to find though that some of these photos were really funny, because I would usually end up taking the photos towards the end, or even after the wedding had ended. Since we are so busy during the day, the only time I really have to take these photos is when I sneak away for a precious five minute bathroom break some time during the evening, hence "Bathroom Selfies".

The vast majority of our weddings are full day coverage, meaning they range anywhere from 8-16 hours, about 14 hours being an average wedding day for us. What this means is that often when I take these photos I look a straight mess. You can imagine 16 hours hauling pounds of camera gear all over, sweating my face off, non stop brain on, focusing on capturing any and all special moments the entire time.

So here is me, a wiped out wedding photographer after a day's work!

Recognize the shirt? I swear it's a different wedding, hahaha.

Guess I really like that shirt...

Thanks so much for reading, and if you like my post toss me one of those delicious upvotes! Be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit for new content all the time.

Dexter

Sort:  

hahaha! These are great! There's something about doing events that compels us to take a mirror portraits in the bathroom.

Thanks @nebcat, I'm glad you got a kick out of them too! It's true what you said too, when I showed these to some wedding photographer friends they told me they do the same thing, with maybe a little less dedication though, haha.

These are funny dude. When I decided to do freelance photography, really researched, took classes and looked at all the genres of professional photography. Wedding photographer ended up last on my list. Personality reasons and because you guys and gals are the hardest working photographers in the business. I totally respect that and these after pictures prove it. Keep going and publish a book.

Thanks so much @runrudy! I'd love to publish a book of these one day, that would probably be hilarious, haha :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43