Are DSLR Cameras Dead?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

No, but it is my opinion that they soon will be.

I'm sure many of you will disagree with me, so let me explain a little bit first. I have always used Nikon, I personally am against Canon and their lack of innovation and features. I started with a Nikon D5300, and then moved to a Nikon D7500 (Both APS-C). I then moved to a Nikon D750 and have also had experience with the D610. While none of these are 'top of the line', nor are they cheap (If I had used the D850, I have this slight feeling I would love it). Since I don't have much experience with Canon, this will be a comparison to Nikon DSLR's which are, in my opinion, superior to those of canon.

As you can see, this is obviously an opinion article, everything I say is my opinion and please understand that.

So, about a month ago I decided I was over Nikon, the D750 sucked for me (although I believe it was a lens problem). I had issues with terrible autofocus, and just overall un-sharp images. The lens I had purchased was worth about $1500 so I decided I would just sell both it and the camera, with the intention of either getting a Sony A6500, A7R2 or Fujifilm XT-2. In the end I got the A7R2, and let me tell you it's been one of my best decisions ever.

20180131_131631.jpg

EVF


My first impression of the EVF was not great. I thought it looked terrible and grainy... I could see the pixels. But after using it for an hour or so, I realised how amazing it is. Being able to see the results of your settings before you even take the image? That's crazy. An OVF is nice, but it doesn't have any of the features, and this is massive when it comes to video. The screen lets you see exactly what is in focus, and whether your aperture is too low to catch a whole face in focus (especially important for me). Can you do this with a DSLR? Sure. You get used to it, and you learn what setting will result in what. But this camera allows you to try so much more, and to really optimise your image. Want to see a histogram before you even take the image? You can.

But since this camera is mirrorless, it also means that the back screen is actually great for taking pictures. On DSLRs, the screen on the back always seemed to be a side thought. If you really wanted to take nice photos, you would use the view finder. The screen was only there for recording video (because you are forced to), and for the occasional odd angle shots. On a mirrorless it is a very important part of the camera, and a very functional one. You aren't limited to the view finder all the time, because the screen is just as functional as the EVF.

Images


Screenshot_20180131-113121.png

Look, I know DXOmark isn't everything. I know it isn't 'real world'. But anyone who denies the information it has is factual and meaningful depending on the situation is just totally wrong. The top two cameras are significantly more expensive and both medium format, meaning the only camera to compete with the top Sony mirrorless for image quality is the Nikon D850 (which is I admit, an amazing camera). But the more interesting part is when you compare to the competition at the same price.

I compared the 5D Miv, D850 and A7R2 (not even the A7R3). The A7R2 beats the Canon on every category with ease. This is a latest generation Canon vs a 2015 camera... It's astonishing. The D850 does beat the A7R2 out on colour depth and dynamic range, but not by much. It loses to the A7R2 in ISO performance.

Let me tell you, the 42mp sensor is crazy sharp. Paired with the right lenses, it provides amazing and stunning results.

Another factor is the stabilisation the A7R2 has. Have you ever imagined taking 1/2 or 1/4 of a second shots handheld, on a DSLR? I'm pretty sure it's near impossible. On the A7R2? Sure! It may not be the sharpest, but it's possible.

_DSC2683.jpg

As you can see, this image is not sharp (just look at the hair), but it is useable. This was taken at 1/4 of a second from my hand... Nothing extra involved. This is the first camera I have been confident taking portraits at 1/30 or 1/20 of a second handheld.

It is also the first camera I have ever been confident taking photos at ISO's such as 6400 without significant noise. While I know some DSLR's can manage that, it's still rare.

Video

In video it dominates. No DSLR competes. Nikon has some great video quality on the D850, but it lacks the log features, and the EVF is truly amazing for video. On DSLRs you can't even use the viewfinder when recording, which can sometimes cause problems in bright sunlight. However, on the A7R2 you can freely decide how to record. Further, the autofocus is crazy good. While many people have complained about the autofocus, Sony has made it far better on every generation it has released. I can't even imagine what the A7R3 is like! Eye detection is fantastic, as is face detection. The nearly 400 autofocus points also provide crazy fast and accurate focusing (the best I've ever experienced).

Canon... Canon is a joke for video. While there are some decent 1080p recording cameras (like the 80D and 6DM20, they can't compete with the features or the quality of the A7R2. Sure, not everyone wants 4k, but with the flexibility it gives you why wouldn't you want it?

Realistically the only DSLR that can compare is (from what I hear) the 1DXm2. However I don't know as I haven't used it, not to mention is is nearly double the price.

Small Factors


So what other small things do I really enjoy? While I know it's not important to many people, and that the lenses are just as big, the size. Size isn't even important to me, but when I record video (vlog style) it is incredibly nice.

20180201_135457.jpg

It really is nice to use and doesn't cause anywhere near the inconvenience of a bigger DSLR. Besides the size, I also love the programmable buttons all over the camera. Other cameras have this, but not to the same level as the A7R2, where nearly every button can be changed (as well as three buttons for manual mapping). Eye detection is fantastic, and even works for animals much of the time. I also love having the exposure compensation located where it is. And the build quality...? I really love holding it. The metal feel is just great.

So that brings me to the last part......

Downsides


Any camera has downsides, and the Sony is no exception. Here are the big downsides I've noticed so far while using it. The one you hear about commonly is the battery life, but really, I haven't had many problems. I always carry a spare battery with me yes, but I can still get a good shoot on one battery, and I only take a spare if I know I will be taking lots of photos of video that day. However yes, it is a problem compared to the DSLR counterparts.

The EVF infrared sensor can be a bit buggy and change from EVF to screen randomly when unwanted, although this is quite minor and is easily fixed just by moving it around a bit. The menu system is also utterly stupid and hard to navigate. There's no defence for this, it's really terrible.

Also.... The raw photos are nearly 90 megabytes each. I actually had to get a computer upgrade just to edit these photos efficiently.

Lastly, it has no touchscreen. This is fixed on the latest generation, but no touchscreen is a killer for video.

Example images

Here are some images I have taken with the camera! I hope you enjoy them.

_DSC2714.jpg

_DSC2713.jpg

_DSC2008.jpg

_DSC1962.jpg

_DSC2206.jpg

Thank you for reading this far. I don't mean to criticise Canon too much, I'm just a very opinionated person! They are great in the right hands, those hands just aren't mine!

Overall, I think that DSLRs do still have advantages. However, I think that mirrorless systems are fast becoming superior in every way. After using the A7R2 for photo shoots and daily, I am investing fully in the E mount (and Canon lenses :P). This is the first camera I have wanted to take with me everywhere. I take it out every day because I love it so much.

Sort:  

nice 😊
do not forget to follow our account and upvote @ryanrizky.
thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93