A Question for Photographers, Viability of Posting Single Images?

in #photography7 years ago

Hello everyone.

Over the past few months I have experimented with a few different forms/ways of posting on Steemit (for photographs). I have tried things such as single images, sets of related images, full blown blog posts, or even article styled posts. I have noticed that by far the posts that become the most successful (for me) are the posts that are more of a blog style. It seems that posts here that have a balance of both images and text seem to do best. These are also the posts that I put the most time into and that makes sense, however, sometimes these posts make nothing.

What I have noticed though is that a lot go photographers prefer to post only single images at a time, almost in a style reminiscent of Instagram. However, from my experience of posting in such a way, I get next to no exposure/votes compared to a longer post.

While I do understand that more work results in more success (usually), and that I am not the biggest Steemian out there, I would love to hear other's opinions on this, because it is something I am genuinely curious about.

What form does everyone else prefer to post in, and why?

Sort:  

the audience here seem to be very keen on your story behind the picture , me as a photographer still struggle with that too . After all if i wanted to be a writer i would have bought a pen and not a camera :)

Thanks for the reply. Yeah, I understand exactly what you mean. Although I do enjoy both writing and photography, sometimes I just want to post a picture! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76