Photography: Tonight's Moon

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DEVS1107[1].JPG

I tried getting a photograph of the moon tonight but this was the best my 55mm (max focal length) lens can do (it's an 18-55mm lens). I guess if I had a longer focal length lens and a teleconverter, I'd be able to get a bigger photograph of the moon. Moon photography is an awesome thing you can do if you have the proper gear for it.

I bet you'd photograph the moon every night as you as you get the chance. It's a wonderful specimen.

DEVS1107[1]aaaa.jpg

I used Photoshop to make a 'tile' of the moon in the image above. (Added my watermark's logo to the last moon at the bottom-right corner)


How to Improve?

For me to get closer photos of the moon, I will need to get a lens that has a longer focal length. For the basics, I have 3 options from Fujifilm's Fujinon that I can buy (up to 200mm). I can also opt to buy another brand but a use of an adaptor may be needed. There's also an option for a teleconverter that can multiply a lens' focal length by up to x3. However, if I will be considering Auto-Focus(AF) I'll have to stick with Fujinon.

There are 2 kinds of lenses from Fujinon: Regular Telephotos and Red Badge Telephotos.

Those lenses are listed here: https://fujifilm-x.com/gbl/lenses/. I will need something that can reach 200mm to photograph the moon effectively. Here's a list:

  • XC50-230mmF4.5-6.7 OIS
  • XF55-200mmF3.5-4.8 R LM OIS
  • XF100-400mmF4.5-5.6 R LM OIS WR


Image Source

The XF lenses are the more expensive ones while the XC one is very affordable.

I found this article about the 100-400 XF lens: 5 Reasons Why I Love the XF 100-400mm Lens.


footer.png

deveerei.png

spacer.png

Source.png

Sort:  

I really like your photography @deveerei ! As for a 200mm lens, why not try an inexpensive manual 200mm lens with an adapter. I had an old 200mm f4 SMC lens given to me a few years ago, and adapted it to my Olympus OMD. This is how it does on the moon (click on image for full size).

P9040031.PNG

Wow, your new camera can really capture these details? Looking forward with your future shots when you have those high end lens that you are talking about Dev.

Thanks! Hopefully, I would have the extra cash for it soon. :D

now that is an awesome shot, its cloudy in my country so cant see anything

Thanks a lot. The moon is very small in the original photo, I had to crop out most of the image.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62954.14
ETH 3466.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51