Can the long way make you happier?

in #photography8 years ago

Have you ever considered taking the long way to work or school?

What? Yes I know we’re in a hurry and it might cost you 5 or 10 minutes.

Are you like me - catching yourself trying to shave off a minute here or there in the name of efficiency? Maybe consider doing the opposite - drive the long way or walk through a park instead of taking the fast “efficient” route. Sometimes the long way is a touch more peaceful, more beautiful or it might just offer something new.

A simple choice to change your route once in awhile can add a few moments of happiness to your day. Or if you’re open maybe you will simply notice something new or see something in a new way.


Anyway yesterday I was taking my own medicine and I took the long way to work. I stopped at a red light. The sunrise was almost perfectly framed by the passenger window.

It was one of those little moments you get on the 'long route' even though it quickly slipped away into the mindless daily commute. I took a quick snap with my iPhone.

ImageText

After I took it I wished I had rolled down the window but the light had turned green.

It's still an interesting picture even though you can see there's a little bit of flaring where the window is dirty. We might say it adds some texture to a strange scene of winter after competing with the recent rain in here in Ontario.


If I take the long way into work I get a few minutes of country scenery before I hit the construction and urban expansion. I’ve seen quite a few incredible sunrises on this route.

Some mornings it’s so stunning you can almost hear it calling out for a photographer.

In those moments I question why I don’t always have a DSLR and tripod with me just in case - I could stop and capture these fleeting moments. Yet on the other hand I like the excuse that I have no camera and so I can enjoy the moment without looking through a lens.


Do you always take the fastest route?
Have you found a slower more enjoyable route when you’re walking or driving? Let me know if you change it up once in awhile or if this is something you might try.

It's a small thing and easy to do. It might add a touch of happiness to your day. Who doesn't want that? And who knows you might even get a nice unexpected photo out of the deal! Remember to roll down the window first.

Make it a great day!

Sort:  

Awesome post!
I love taking the long way home, and the long way to work. It lets me decompress, and collect myself. The wonderful minutes alone, with just my thoughts are priceless to me.

Thanks for your comment lukinsawyer. Ya I get that. The time drive does offer some space to switch gears and unwind so to speak. My 35-45 min drive is long enough for me though!

Enjoyed your post, being an 'early riser', I often find may things different to "start" my day. Gym to swim laps & soak in the hot tub. Coffee with a friend. Shopping the grocery store at 5AM (this one sounds nuts, till you do it) .... no lines, friendlier staff & great parking to boot! A great breakfast & a warm car to work..... So many things. ;) [Gave you an upvote & resteem] ~Peace!

Thanks for sharing and for the upvote etc. Well I can't say I get groceries as early as you (I don't think our superstore is even open that early LOL) though I completely agree with shopping off-peak. I try to hit the grocery store Saturdays at 8 or 830 am before the mad rush - it's so much easier. You've got me thinking about the hot tub and swimming now too :)

I do switch up. I call it my paradigm shifting.

That's a catchy way to think about it - I like that. Thanks for jumping in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85