Looks Like it Finally Happened! Spring is Here...

in #photography7 years ago

It was sort of a grimy, gray and occasionally rainy day today... I was about to start doing some work around the house when the sun suddenly poked through the deep gray clouds and lit up our apricot tree at the side of the driveway. 

It was such a beautiful sight that I postponed writing a "serious" blog post and instead headed off to grab my camera. I'm glad I did!

So these are some shots of our old apricot tree, bursting into bloom. I think we can safely say that "Spring has arrived!"

ApricotBlossoms
Apricot blossom in close-up

It's a pretty old tree, as apricots go, and it seldom sets significant fruit to speak of. During a few better years we might end up with a handful of fruit, no more.

But it certainly does make for a beautiful sight in late March, and serves as a reminder that spring is finally here.

Haven't seen any bees out and about yet, but I expect they will soon follow. We usually see an occasional bumble bee first, and a couple of weeks later the first regular bees start showing up.

Spring was always one of my favorite times of the year, even when I was a kid.

ApricotBlossoms
Apricot blossoms in bloom

Growing up in Denmark, the nearby beech forests would be covered with a blanket of white anemonies (Anemone nemorosa) that almost looked like a thin layer of snow. Over there, that was almost the "official" sign of spring.

They were really pretty, too... I'm thinking about them now because the appearance of their tiny blooms were not unlike these apricot blossoms.

I used to walk our dog in the nearby woods, and would pick them for my mom. She was pleased, but always reminded me that they were poisonous... which I don't think I ever took very seriously. Actually, white anemonies are poisonous, but I was raised by someone who declared everything to be "poisonous," if she wanted me to stay away from it.

Anyway, back to the apricots. I tried to capture the contrast between the white blossoms and the leaden gray sky, but none of those shots turned out very well.

ApricotBlossoms
Apricot blossoms in our garden

I guess the reason I have always liked spring so much is because it gives me a sense of hope; a sense that maybe "things" will start growing again.

We have had a few lean years, and sometimes it has been difficult to remain hopeful. Spring, however, always adds a layer of hope. And hope seems to be one of those feelings that make our burdens seem a little lighter, even during dark moments.

So there it is! Occasionally, I do write some "lighter" and "fluffier" posts! Maybe that's my own personal version of "spring fever."

Now, if you'll excuse me, I need to get back to the more serious business of maintaining my eBay shops! I hope you enjoyed the photos, even if there is no way to truly capture the beauty of real life in a photograph.

ApricotBlossoms
Apricot blossoms in our garden

How about YOU? Is spring a "hopeful" season for you? Does it feel like a time when you're inspired to renew, like nature is renewing? Or is it pretty much like any other time of the year, for you? Do you have any particularly vivid "springtime memories? Share a comment and help start the dialogue!

(As always, all text and images by the author unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

Great post and I love spring ! I also did a first day of spring post and positive energy and new beginnings that spring brings , heres a link from 2 days ago if you want to check it out ! And thanks for shareing your story and beautiful pictures ! 🌹💟🌸🏵🌸 https://steemit.com/steemit/@karenmckersie/march-20-yippee-its-the-first-day-of-spring-let-the-postive-energy-flow

@karenmckersie, thanks for stopping by and commenting! I'll go have a look at your, too.

Cool thanks ! Never stop steeming on !😉👍

How about YOU? Is spring a "hopeful" season for you?

Yes, it is! I don't like the cold and dark wintertime. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your comment-- spring is a good start for new projects and ideas to start "blooming."

I know spring is nearly ever ones favorite season, who does not love the beginning of new life and just the mere sight of it energizes you. We are sadly entering Autumn in South Africa but Luckily it has its own beauty too.

Autumn does have its own beauty... especially if you're in parts where the trees turn all those beautiful colours.

I just love Spring. These Apricot blossoms made me think of when I was a young girl in my grandmother's garden. I just absolutely loved these little flowers and I have such fond memories of this. Lovely post.

Thanks for the kind words-- glad the post touched you!

So beautiful blossoms. Spring is amazing...

Thank you! Yes, spring is a great season for new beginnings.

You have a real gift, sir.
These photos are incredible. Go look at my four leaf clover.
I'll share my luck with you! wink

I did! We have much luck... and pretty flowers.

I do feel a sense of freshness whenever spring rolls around. It gives me energy because of all the vibrance and awakening of nature.

Yeah, spring does have that "clean" feeling.

Bautiful flower ;) i like this

Nice... Is spring season at europe now ? :)

Spring in many parts of northern Europe where I used to live, and spring here in North America, too.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95