Desert Elephant bull in the Hoanib

in #photography6 years ago

Good day folks,

as a first photo from my recent trip Namibia, i chose this magnificient desert adapted elephant bull.

We found it feeding on some branches below one of the trees in the Hoanib riverbed in northwestern Nambia.

One of the distinct features of these highly adapted animals are their wide feet ( as you can see) which allows for better walking on deep sand.

I hope it will stay safe and have proper and long life.

DRP-2018-09-20_8435.jpg

cheers,

Denis

Sort:  

Hi denisroschlau,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

It looks like a picture from National Geographic! Well done! How far were you from this elephant? Just asking as I'm not sure how they react to people if they're in their natural habitat. Thank you for sharing. Hope to see more from your trip to Namibia!

Thanks for that!
This photo was taken maybe 40m from the bull, however these elephants are quite relaxed as long as you don´t surprise them and leave them a way to go, we had them coming as close a s appr. 5m...

regards,

Denis

That is such a stunning image, well captured. Hope you had a great trip visiting Southern Africa.

thank you very much, i really had a great time!

cheers,

Denis

Is this a wild elephant or in a nature's park? It looks old and tired but the tusks look short so I wonder if it is really an old fella or just too distressed.

Anyway, you got a good shot of an elephant's portrait. It looks like you had a great adventure in Namibia.

Thanks for your kind words, this is a desert adapted elephant roaming free in the wild, mostly in the dry riverbed of the Hoanib.
It is a fully grown bull and since it is living in a very arid environment, the tusk lenghts might not give away the real age.

cheers,

Denis

You got a close shot of the giant. Is it not that wild that you got close to it? Or was that a zoomed shot?

I took this shot with a long lens and i think it was about 40m away, eventually we ended up being much closer, more like 10m. He was quite relaxed...

40m and you got that crisp details on the photo! You must have a very good lens.

Thanks, it was a bit expensive, so i am happy you like the quality!

With such quality at 40m distance, I bet that is indeed expensive!

Years ago before the smartphone era, I got interested in cameras that I bought DSLR. I was thinking of biting the price and get the lens that I wanted so much back then. I was eyeing for more than 10x optical zoom. Good thing I did not buy it because when smartphones came out, I lost interest on the bulky cameras. Forget about the zoom. I just wanted a crisp photo and smartphones do the job. Now my DSLR is like an antique in the corner. 😂

Beautiful giants of Africa, very well captured, great quality and like the moment of his walking. When I hear on and off about those who go to africa for hunting such examples that makes me really angry, such a beauty should be preserved, wonderful memory of Namibia :)

they really are, it is completely beyond my imagination how someone is able to kill one of these for a trophy...

howdy from Texas sir denisroschlau! what a magnificent animal and photograph! wow, it looks kind of scary coming right straight at you though, were you in a truck or somewhere safe?

Hi, thank you for your kind words.
It might look impressive, but it wasn´t a scary situation at all. I was was in my car.

regards,

Denis

howdy again denisroschlau! thanks for the explanation and thanks again for a great post!

you are welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99