Chocolate Protein Waffles- RECIPE

in #photography6 years ago

I’ve been obsessed with waffles lately. I could eat them for breakfast, lunch and also dinner sometimes. My love for waffles has no intention of slowing. There’s something about the crisp edges and fluffy, tender middles.

These chocolate waffles contain only healthy ingredients and aren’t overly sweet. Top them with plain greek yogurt, berries, melted dark chocolate, and you have a sweet treat that is actually good for you!

INGREDIENTS

Makes 5 waffles

  • 1 cup oat flour (or ground oats)
  • 1/2 cup almond flour (or ground almonds)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp protein powder (you can replace it with 1 tsp of cocoa powder)
  • Optional: 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk of your choice (I prefer almond milk)
  • 4 tbsp melted coconut oil (or melted butter)
  • 4 tbsp maple syrup or honey (or more of desired)
  • non-stick cooking spray or 2-3 tbsp of coconut oil or melted butter for greasing the waffle iron

Topping:

  • 1 cup plain greek yogurt
  • berries
  • 120 g/ 4.2 oz good quality chocolate

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the waffle iron. In a big bowl, combine oat flour, almond flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, chia seeds, and protein powder (if using).
  2. In another bowl, whisk eggs, milk, coconut oil and maple syrup. Pour the wet ingredients over flour mixture, whisk to combine.
  3. Grease your preheated waffle iron with a little bit of melted coconut oil or butter (with a silicon brush) or spray waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray. Pour enough batter in iron to just cover waffle grid. Cook waffles until golden- brown and crisp. In the meantime, melt the chocolate over a hot-water bath, stirring occasionally.
  4. Top each serving with 1- 2 tbsp of yogurt. Pour the melted chocolate over the waffles and then top with some berries.

Thanks for reading and see you in the next post!

All content and photos are mine and original. I took  photos with CANON 450D.

If you're looking for more food inspiration, you can check my blog here: https://www.instagram.com/denisakusnirova/

Deny

Sort:  

Wow, I'm really into healthy food and these waffles look so delicious. I will definitely give them a try. I've always had an inspiration for cooking, but haven't cooked for years, especially desserts. Recently I'm trying to bring back my passion for cooking. I checked your Instagram, your food looks so amazing and delicious!

Thank you so much, this comment just made my day! :) I'm happy to hear you're getting back into cooking!

upvoted&followed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66433.10
ETH 3607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69