You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Fashion Shots with Darren Moriarty

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Time for Print sounds lame, like internships where people work for free. I mean, I know why you might do it to build up a portfolio, but in general I think if people are doing valuable work they should expect payment, because without it you end up in exploitative practices.

Internships where people work for free for "experience" leads to young people who are already knee deep in debt for their education not being able to make a living and displacing people who would work for a minimum wage. Often these "internships" have no actual training.

People using Facebook 'for free' leads to creepy things like advertisers having editorial control over everything we see, private information about us being sold without our knowledge and even psychological experiments being performed on masses of users.

I don't know what it's like in modelling/photography but it always seems better if everyone doing valuable work can get paid for it in some way.

You look great as usual btw :-)

Sort:  

Yeah I was pretty unhappy with it when I first started but its a great way of meeting new people in all honesty! I met @condra through working TFP and he has been one of my best mates ever since ^.^ I completely agree with your point and I have been struggling to understand why a lot of models that contact me about photoshoots get unhappy when I reject free work, its as though THEY are the ones doing me a favor. Same with company internships , a lot of my classmates in college are doing internships for computing jobs and I just can't accept it, I understand we all need experience to be able to do something but going to college for 4 years and then working barely for anything for over 6 months is too much money spent for little rewards as its all about growing up in the ladder. However modelling and photography is a bit different as its all about your experience and skills. You wouldn't want to hire a beginner for your wedding photos in fear of having bad photos take on your one special day , or just in general get a bad reputation over certain images that were awful which stays with models for the rest of their careers. Its all really debatable. I think in regards to modelling and photography TFP is great as both parties get something in return but when it comes to internships its a different story...

Thank you very much ! ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70