On the roads in Romania#1: Trip to an ordinary mountain citysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Friday was a big one for us. We put in the papers at the City Hall in E's hometown. We're going to have the official marriage there next week and the actual wedding ceremony with the church and all, in October. Although this was what some might say one of those "no-turning-back." moments, we didn't feel any pressure.

It was quite pleasant. I am a fan of seeing life without filters, or at least sharing it with others without "too much photoshop" and I don't mean it literally in this case, but rather let's not overcome aspects that are there in an attempt to put things in a certain light. I think there's a piece of discovery in anything, so below are a series of photos I took on Friday in an attempt to capture the moment as-it-is. Romania is a place of contrasts, and it fascinates me every day. I believe we can pick up a lot of details of how life actually is in one place though photos of ordinary activities, like a car trip to another city.

IMG_0754.JPG

20 minutes on the road, my father (the designated driver) needed a "wee-wee" break, so it was a good moment to get some stills from around. It was around 8:10. This year autumn feels a little different. I think I've never stopped and taken a moment to reflect on this season. I've never really cared for it until this year.

IMG_0755.JPG

ECPM2239.jpg

IMG_0771.JPG

Entering Piatra Neamt - view through the dirty windshield of my car.

UCII9465.jpg


My father was sleepy and the guys from the radio nailed the soundtrack. I love the color accents.


We were driving to E.'s apartment to pick up her documents for the City Hall, and we passed by the farmer's market. Outside there was this cool September chill and the radio nailed it again.

This is the place where me and E. first kissed. Next weekend when we officialize the marriage it will be exactly 7 years from that moment in time.

IMG_0789.JPG

This is how Romanian people protect their flowers and plants during the cold season.

IMG_0793.JPG

IMG_0801.JPG

This town makes you feel very close to the mountains.

QAEF4099.jpg

Piatra Neamt is a mountain side city that blends old architecture and "new" (most of the neighbourhoods were built during the communist era), this is my favourite spot in this town.

IMG_0808.JPG

IMG_0809.JPG

RFDQ0235.jpg

IMG_0831.jpg

YFSH0746.jpg

IMG_0845.JPG

What I like about traveling on Romanian roads is that I can catch some cool minimal landscape shots. This is from our trip back.

(BONUS Image: Being retro is still in fashion on romanian roads.)

IMG_0848.jpg

--
If you want to follow my journey, you can follow me @demostene. If you really like this story, please upvote and resteem. Thank you!

Sort:  

@demostene
It's so cute that you can remember all these details about your past with E. I find you guys a really cool couple. Story telling is excellent, as always! Keep it up! I hope that, when I will publish some stories, you will make a bit of place for a new writer in town!

interesting storytelling - to visit this country is definitely in my plans and to go between villages and small towns is sounds like a dream

Thank you! @victorbz! Share pics and impressions when you return.

sure ! i always post my photo stories about my trips :-)

good thing I'm following you then :)

@meep meep! Thanks for stopping by

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

It's awesome to see a relationship age like fine wine, nowadays most relationships look like pure water.. but taste like vinegar.

Great pictures, I've always been into pseudo-victorian architecture, wish we had more buildings like that in Egypt, keep up the good work!

Nice trip @demostene. Thanks for sharing with us, moments of your life, nicely described and depicted with words and pictures.

Thanks for stopping by @adrianv!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82