You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photographing Raptors With Phoblographer - The Buzzard 📷

in #photography7 years ago

Excellent work! I was about to ask about the lens, but you've included it in the description :)

I'm thinking about Nikon's 200-500 f/5.6, but I'm still unsure whether this is a good choice.

Sort:  

The Nikkor 200-500 f/5.6 is heavier, more expensive, and offers similar results in practice. The main problem I've seen with the Nikon lens is variance, that is sharpness can vary from lens to lens.

The Tamron 150-600 is also another alternative, though I've known people to have problems with the focus sticking. If you'd prefer a more lightweight option, the Nikkor 300 f/4 Pf with a teleconverter is also viable. Shooting into a light source can however be problematic with this lens due to the Phase Fresnel element.

I can wholeheartedly recommend the Sigma 150-600 C, I'm yet to experience any issues with it (knocks on wood). I guess it just depends on your shooting style and personal preference. I hope you'll be satisfied with your eventual purchase either way. : )

Now that's a reply, thank you! I've heard some people comment on quality control problems with Sigma too - I guess it's a common problem with telephoto lenses.

I'll try to compare some photos on Flickr and eventually decide, although at this point, I'd rather sell all my gear and get into Fuji. That said, I've no idea of their selection of telephoto lenses... Hmm...

No problem, I knew a guy with an XT-1 and an XF 100-400mm, he seemed to get on well with it. Fuji cameras are very much in the ascendance at the moment, great for street photography. I'm tempted to get a X100F myself : /

It's has a fixed lens, that's rather limiting I think... And at 35mm, you'll have to shoot rather close to your subjects. Like a fist's distance away :)

The image quality is incredible though :)

Yeah I'd only use it for street photography. I'm used to shooting at 24mm when out and about so it wouldn't be too bad.

If anything I probably have too much gear, so it's unlikely that I'd ever get one : /

24mm? That's too wide for me, although I won't deny I like 28mm - but I just can't stick my lens up people's noses :)

I think an X-T20 with a 23mm or 35mm is a completely justified (wink wink) investment! :D

It would be nice to fund that investment with profits earned from Steemit. Though I think it would probably take several years of blogging : /

Yes, I would think so too. Well, that would be at our rate - some photographers are making $30 per post, so that'll be a couple of months for them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33