DEK Photography: The Port of Burgas

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is one of the most difficult shots I've taken. This is just one out of hundreds of attempts at capturing a pleasing composition and I'm still unhappy with the result.

The area is so large, that the avoiding the curvature of the Earth is near impossible. At the same time, the hills in the background are higher at the left side of the photo, which require the image to be slightly tilted, in order to create a visually straight line (although it is not).

In addition, the port is not extending straight into the sea, but is curved to its right (i.e. extending away from the viewer), which creates another unpleasing and hard to balance geometric shape.

And finally, the colors. I have this very same frame in hundreds of colors and there's always something wrong - either the sea has no color, the sand is too bright, the sky is too gray or there is fog, effectively hiding the entire landscape from the viewer.

I've never seen any of the above line up for the perfect shot, even though this is one of the prettiest places I've visited (and keep visiting almost daily). But there it is - the imperfect shot of an almost perfect place:

The Port of Burgas
Taken @ 50mm, f/10, 1/100s, ISO 100. You can click for a bigger image! In fact, I'll be most pleased, if you do!

Do you want to see some more of my photography? Click on #dek-photography!

Check out my last publications:

Sort:  

The tones have a very pleasing effect.It definitely looks better when you maximize it. Great work

Thank you! I see you've been away for the last half year as well. Let's hope we can catch up with the rest of the crowd :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69377.84
ETH 3684.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.36