Maribor, Slovenia - Night walk along the banks of the river

Currently i am in Maribor, small city in Slovenia. It's quite picturesque with rich history and very beautiful neighborhood. Excellent food, nice wines, friendly residents... I enjoying being here.

3.jpg
Bridge across Drava, Maribor

Tonight I went for a little walk around the city, which reminded me of first visit to the city. It was in February, I was trying to arrange agreement with one local company. It was a long shoot, and I was almost sure that we do not have a slightest chances to get that job. Even more, I was sure that I will not going to have the opportunity to see Maribor again.

1.jpg
Night panorama of Maribor

So, after a long day, exhausted and very, very tired, I picked up my camera and went to a walk. It was a really cold night, but I didn't mind. I had a great desire to go around the city. My colleague told me that I am just acting stupid and childish, since I should rest for meetings, but I didn't want to go home without a glimpse of the city.

4.jpg
Bridge over frozen Drava, Maribor, Slovenia

Extremely cold and a foggy night, made me fall in love with the city at first sight. Step after step I was finding new views. Each new location was more beautiful then previous. Late evening become night, night become late night.... But I didn't mind. I didn't want to stop that magical feeling...

5.jpg
Banks of river Drava, Maribor, Slovenia

And little by little, I found myself completely alone in middle of the night at one of most surprising towns I visited lately. And I realized that I am not cold, not tired, not hungry... I was happy and full of energy. Almost in the morning, I returned to hotel, took shower and went straight to a meeting. That night gave to me some strange energy to shine and against all odds, we made a deal and got a job.

2.jpg
Bridge across Drava, Maribor, Slovenia

So, that's a story why I am so busy these days. It's because one cold, winter night, I didn't want to sleep. It's because I wanted to see more than a hotel. It was because I wanted to wander and feel alive. It's because I was childish. And that's my best advise for tonight: whatever society tell you to do or not to do - you should listen to your hart!

5.jpg
Banks of river Drava, Maribor, Slovenia


Camera: Sony A6000 & Sigma 19mm f2.8 DN
Photos info: Long exposures, panorama of multiple shoots
Post processing: Adobe Ligrtroom

Sort:  

As a Slovenian myself (actually coming from Maribor) I highly appreciate this post! Thank you for the beautiful pictures and I hope you enjoy your time in Maribor :D I followed you :D

Thank you @svashta
It is a very nice town, I really enjoy here :)

This is really good work! I like the way you link the photos and story together so I can walk along with you!

Thank you, I'm glad that you like it :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

You've got a really nice post here, so I want to nominate it to our daily compilation at the @ocd account. This could get you more attention to your post and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Hey! you make it into our compilation post. You can read it in the next link:
https://steemit.com/ocd/@ocd/ocd-daily-issue-85
Hope this get you some extra votes.

Thanks for these pictures. I drove through Slovenia once, but I had someone waiting for me in Italy, so there was no time to fool around and visit the place. I hope I'll be able to go back next year.

Same for me - this is a first time that I actually spending some time in Slovenia. Usually I just drive through. And it is a beautiful little country, very friendly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47