Macrophotography: A fly posing for the lens of my camera. [self-authorship of photography + storytelling + educational reference content]

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Greetings, my dear Steemians.

It will always be a pleasure for me to be here.

I get very excited when things like this happen to me, I had a very particular model this week who by the way posed for the lens of my camera with complete ease. I still can't believe it.

This is the second time that something similar has happened to me, I started joking with my family after what happened because I don't know if maybe it's some personal hygiene problem I'm having and for that reason:

The flies are after me!

I hope that's not the reason. ha ha ha ha ha ha.

Let's take a look to the photoshoot I did to this beautiful model:

5F.jpg

Fly is the common name of several species of flying insects, belonging to the order of diptera. Wikipedia

As you can see, It was always attentive and staring at the camera lens. By researching them in order to make this publication I was able to understand many of it behaviors.

s - copia.jpg

The fly was really looking at me because of this:

1f.jpg

The flies owe their ability to escape the fact that they have a sophisticated defense system that makes them anticipate the movements of their attacker and respond with movements "very fast, about 200 milliseconds". Wikipedia

The fly had to watch my movements to see if I was a threat.

s - copia.jpg

These flies belong to the Sarcophagidae species.

3F.jpg

These flies are a family of brachial diptera commonly known as meat flies because their larvae develop in carrion and manure, as well as in the living tissues of people and other animals. Wikipedia

This explains the reason it presence in my house, it was because of my pet.

s - copia.jpg

The tongue of the fly.

10F.jpg

It's said that the fly's tongue is larger than its body. Did you see that? I wasn't lying when I said that the fly had posed for my lens. Unfortunately it didn't make me a duck face but this one looks great too.

s - copia.jpg

One last curious fact about them.

6F.jpg

Free will in flies:
In December 2010, the article "Towards a scientific concept of free will as a biological trait: spontaneous actions and decision-making in invertebrates "6 was published in the journal Proceedings of the Royal Society, in which it is stated that even invertebrates somehow manifest free will behaviour. Its author, Björn Brembs, asserts that fly behaviour, although not completely free, is not completely constrained. The work provides evidence obtained from fly brains, brains that appear to be endowed with flexibility in decision-making. The scientist points out that the ability to choose between different behavioural options, even in the absence of differences in the environment, would be a capacity common to most, if not all, brains, so that the simplest animals would not be totally predictable automatons. It also points out that this capacity has its adaptive explanation as a response to competitors, prey and predators. Wikipedia

s - copia.jpg

This is a post about macro photography in which I wanted to relate my personal experience and it was also my priority to know a little more about flies. I hope you liked it, I now attach the general technical data on the photographs taken.

s - copia.jpg

Most of the photographs were taken with the following settings:

  • Camera: Nikon D3100
  • Lens: 18-55mm
  • Camera mode: Manual
  • Shutter Speed: 1/250
  • f/: 5.6


s - copia.jpg

Credits:
Photo editing in Photoshop CS6
Banner and dividers made in Canva
Let's play Steem Monsters.

s - copia.jpg

Yours sincerely,

s - copia.jpg

Sort:  

great shot but this is ugly bug hehe
:)

Do you think so? I find them gorgeous.
Lol!

Hehe that's what i mean :)

cómo logras acercarte tanto sin que se vaya?... esta semana me corté un dedo espantando una mosca XD

Por eso aclaro en mis post que me parece que están posando. Déjame sacar la versión de este en español para que veas todo lo que descubrí de ellas. Son asombrosas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47