The imperfection of photos

snapshot.jpg

What follows is a stream of conscious piece about what happened to be on my mind today. Enjoy

We live in a age of the perfect photo. Facebook, Twitter, Steemit, Instagram ect... all filled with mostly flawless photos. What I wonder when I see a photo on social media is just how many times it took to capture that moment. How many retakes? how many other more spontaneous shots found their demises in the digital trash bins of a ten thousand digital cameras?

It it wrong? Hell, I don't know. What makes a photo any different then writing and then re-writing a blog post or rerecording a song or part of a blog post or a stand up comic revising a joke?

Yet for some reason this bothers me. I don't exclude myself here I'm guilty of retaking photos myself from time to time.

Maybe it is because people seem to present photos as a captured moment in time while other things (writing for example.) are relatively known for massive rewrites. (sometimes)

what put me on this though process was me thinking about how photos use to be taken on a roll of film with a limited number of shots where the results could not be seen until the roll was develop. You got what you got and often I believe this captured many more candid and honest moments. The ones with real smiles and mistakes and embarrassing moments that could be laughed at and enjoyed for countless years to come.

I could rewrite this post. There are certainly spots where I could phrase a thought better or write more examples but I want to keep this loose and organic. A true stream of conscious writing.

I think I may end up writing more on this in the future. I have more to say and more thoughts to think but for tonight I want to at least purge the immediate idea from my mind.

Have a good night Steem it

Sort:  

Nice post @deadmoonwrites!

We live in a age of the perfect photo. Facebook, Twitter, Steemit, Instagram ect... all filled with mostly flawless photos. What I wonder when I see a photo on social media is just how many times it took to capture that moment. How many retakes? how many other more spontaneous shots found their demises in the digital trash bins of a ten thousand digital cameras?”

Interesting thought. In my lifetime, certainly the technology available to us is so far beyond what it was in my younger years. To apply it to creating the best possible content is probably overall a good thing. But I certainly understand …

”… where the results could not be seen until the roll was develop. You got what you got and often I believe this captured many more candid and honest moments.”

… this, as well. I am not an artist, so can’t really provide any useful input on that basis. But, from a business point of view, I have long believed giving your “customer” multiple options, is always better than one “take it or leave it” option. So … Perhaps, it is good that we have more options available to us today than we once did.

Dropping by to support your post, after @chekohler featured it in our weekly @pifc community contest.

i am a hoarder for photos and aleays want to buy old non usable cameras to express my love for photography. I loved the blog found you through my friend @chekohler, good luck steeming
gr
britt

I rarely throw away a photo - I never know when I might find a diamond-in-the-rough. I really hate it when people feel their own pictures aren't good enough... It's one thing to put your best foot/face forward, and quite another thing to reject reality because it's not good enough.

Great post! I found you thanks to @chekohlerPay it Forward Curation contest entry this week. Keep up the great work!

I'm the same way. A photo has the be horrible for me to toss it out. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I totally feel you we're always trying to work on projecting what we think is the perfect self to the world on social media instead of actually working on ourselves. We would rather spend more time trying to capture the ideal moment than actually have ideal moments.


FYI I've also selected your post for this weeks pay it forward curation. You can find my nomination here and more about the project and the latest curation round here

I think photos in general we're much better before the digital age. The photo you took was the photo you got 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL agree nothing beats coming home from having your photos developed and having laugh at all the out of focus ones or where your thumb was in the way it was so authentic back then

Posted using Partiko iOS

My brother takes a whole bunch of photos... and he's a film fan. He rarely ever uses a digital camera these days. I guess it's one of those things: to each, its own. Right?

PS: I've found your post because @chekohler featured it on an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I'm glad that non digital cameras still exist in this world 😊 thanks for reading and thanks to @chekohler for the pay it forward contest.

We live in a age of the perfect photo. Facebook, Twitter, Steemit, Instagram ect... all filled with mostly flawless photos. What I wonder when I see a photo on social media is just how many times it took to capture that moment. How many retakes? how many other more spontaneous shots found their demises in the digital trash bins of a ten thousand digital cameras?

I like the angle you are approaching this! I guess when the time passes, the imperfect photos are those which I appreciate the most.

P.S. PS: I've found your post after @chekohler featured it on an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67