You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Tattoo Society magazine cover w/ Inkmaster Angels host, @ryanashley!

in #photography7 years ago

Thats a pretty slick surprise to get in the mail. I'm like you, I used to chase after publications whenever I could but I've only had a few that were worth the effort. This one looks slick as hell though, especially the cover article too. Well deserved dude!

Sort:  

Thanks @davekavanagh! Yeah, that's the truth. I remember when I got my first few opportunities to run in newspapers or magazines feeling like I'd "made it". I think we all go through that early on. Over time, though, it starts to sound a lot like "....it'll be great exposure for you". There's truth to the exchange of exposure, but unless it's a really incredible opportunity I can't pass up, I'm over the "exposure" angle. Most magazine offers I'm not interested in. This one was cool. I like shooting for a magazine that's more for the people in the industry than the fans of tattooing.

Oh man that exposure line drives me nuts. In some situations there actually is some worthwhile exposure available but its mostly just a carrot on a string to get free work. Thankfully anyone whos been around the block a bit will probably know how to see through the bullshit 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64