Synthesis, Post II ; 35mm Film B&W images created using Collage, multiple frames and multiple exposure

in #photography8 years ago

Additional Images in my series of posts displaying some of the experimental film photography that I have made.

I really enjoy both film and digital based photography.  With film there is a certain look to it, even the flaws strike me as interesting, similar to a scratch in a record or bumps and blemishes on a real persons skin.

Film is tangible, you hold the negatives in your hands. That means you can also do things to them such as cut them up, scratch them, draw on them; this can all be very playful or very planned, either way it something that is unique to film. 

Over the last two weeks or so, I have made a couple posts in the experiment series "Wild Layers" and this series "Synthesis".  These used some unusual darkroom printing techniques, shaping of the negatives, multiple exposure and more. 

The resulting images are different from typical presentations and while I certainly have mastered nothing here, I do think they are quite interesting. I like the abstract/dimensional/layered feel and I enjoy when things get good and crazy, I find myself inspired to think and feel something really uncommon. 


 Synthesis 3; This image was pieced together with packing tape, the kind with white string embedded in it.  


 The negative I created for the first image above. I really like the look of the cuts, tape and writing when printed, it all speaks to the hands on sculpting of the images.. 


Synthesis 4;  This image is 6 concurrent negatives. 2 rows of 3 images. I did plan this out although it turned out quite a bit different than expected, it has a darker vibe than the original idea, I still like it at least as a test. 

Each image here has a double exposure. It was shot at the Walker Art center and oddly nearly everything pictured here was removed during the construction this summer. So maybe the dark vibe makes sense now.



 A print made in the darkroom;


Synthesis 5; This one wasn't planned, I took some old negatives and made this collage. I hope to make more out of other old negatives someday soon. With winter about to set in Minneapolis I should have some time. Thus the ode to winter depicted here...


 Various home-brew image carriers for printing, they are carefully made out of 3/16ths black stock. 



Sort:  

I really like this one! We need a print for the teahouse. :)

I love these!! What fun to experiment. Thanks for sharing. I'm inspired. UPvoted. Already following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90