Synthesis; 35mm Film B&W images created using Collage, multiple frames and multiple exposure

in #photography8 years ago

I have a real love for film based photography, for black and white images, and for unique abstract/dimensional/layered photography. 

I find it really interesting when things get extra creative even crazy and a I get inspired to think and feel something really uncommon.

Over the last to weeks  I posted some images in my experiment series "Wild Layers". These used some unusual darkroom printing techniques.

Here I share some more 35 film photography, that relies on the use of modification to allow for unusual sized negatives. This series is called "Synthesis" and is also an experimental  work in progress. This is a B&W film shoot, developed, and printed by me, I made use of some custom techniques to achieve these, results. Results that usually require something like Photoshop.

The images are made using extra long negatives and often double exposure of the film. Some are cut and re pieced together in a collage, then printed. I had to design and build a variety of custom negative holders in order to print these shots. The final prints are designed to be around 2-4 feet wide so the details can really be seen. I think you can still get the idea here here on your phone or computer, still keep in mind that scale is important just a sculptor might make a 5 foot piece verses a small figurine. 


Synthesis 1; This image was pieced together, (I like to say sculpted) I has also been drawn on with a dark marker to create some of the white lines when printed.


Synthesis 2;  This image is 6 concurrent negatives. 2 rows of 3 images. I sketch out my idea and had to shoot carefully. Each image has a double exposure.  This is one of the first images I made.


Here are some of the image carriers for printing, they are made carefully out of black stock.


Here is a medium sized (approx 13x19")testing print made in the darkroom;


Here I show the negative I created, the pieces are placed on clear acetate and taped. I really like the look of the cuts, tape and writing.

Sort:  

beautiful technique, beautiful photographs congratulations, thanks for sharing

Awesome work @darkb4dawn. I've been exposing cyanotypes today-posting tomorrow. New follower!

Awesome, thank you!

Pretty interesting work.

I still want to get one of your prints, it's just a matter of arranging for somebody bring it down for me.

cool man, thanks!

Oh that's cool. I've got thousands of negatives, many of which are basically useless images, but something like this would very likely liven them up.

What do you use for scanning?

A very basic Epson scanner. I press the negatives between to thin pieces of Newton glass. You can buy some at a frame store.

Wow! I LOVE this. So my kinda art with layers and layers of beauty combined in an exquisite composition. Upvoting, following and resteeming this post. Thanks for sharing such an inspiring piece.

Thank you very much, I appreciate it!

I really love these, I'm not sure what you would charge for them but I would seriously consider buying a print from you if you listed it on peerhub. These are really incredible. I absolutely love that one you did with the palm tree trunks.

Hi, thank you! I am not sure either. I have yet to ever try a sell a photograph. I will look at peerhub, I have heard of it but not yet really explored it.

Cool technique, glad @dexter-k resteemed this. Upvoted and followed :)

Awesome, thank you very much!

nice work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94