Disappearing Act 11; 35mm B&W Film Photography developed and printed by me

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

 

Disappearing Act 11 is a  35mm B&W film shoot, developed, and printed by me. I do really like digital photography a lot but film just has a very unique look that sets into a different art form.

I'd like to note* I will no longer be working in film based media. I am presenting the last of what I plan to post from film over the next couple weeks. *

I shot it as one shot made on 11 consecutive negatives. Originally I conceived this would print at about 12-18 inches tall and 12 feet long. I was unable to find a way to print this on Silver Gelatin paper at that size. 

I ended up going with a 3 image "shot" that was much more manageable and I previously published it here on STEEMIT. 

For that work and all my multiple negative images, I had to design and build a custom negative holder in order to print that shot. It was a lot of fun, and believe me took 200+ times longer than working with digital files. 

Anyway, I have scanned in the full 11+ frame image (which is not easy to do, my negative scanner is to small) and I am presenting it here online.

I know due to odd proportions it may not present well on small laptops and especially phones. I apologize for this - remember it is ideally much larger.

I hope you enjoy and enjoy the new year as well.


Disappearing Act 11;


Disappearing act 3; (previously shown on STEEMIT about a year ago)


Sort:  

I love the idea of using an entire roll to tell a little story. It's a shame you don't plan on working with film again - but look forward to seeing other things!

Thanks, film is amazing and the efforts are worth it. I just don't have access to a quality darkroom and despite the efforts "being worth it" artistically, the chemical exposure sorta sucks... oh well! Digital it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43