My Food Adventures : The GT Bank Food and Drink Fest

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

It was May 1st which happened to be workers day down here in Nigeria. Who doesn't love a public holiday? I freaking love a public holiday. It's time to get my groove on.

Apparently GT bank one of the most reliable new generation bank in Nigeria. This prestigious bank organised a Food and Drink Festival to promote enterprises(Food and Drinks) in Nigeria. What's the catch here? Retail spaces are free for all vendors and food businesses. All they have to do is use a GT Bank account(POS machine ) for sales. Of course people can pay with cash but for any online form of payment it has to go through the a GT Bank account of the vendors.

A win-win situation right because everyone wins. Multiple transactions through the bank (which if course the bank will use for business) and the businesses get to be more recognized plus they get to sell massively during the 3 days event. Yes it lasted for 3 days starting from the 29th of April to the 1st of May 2018.

Alright guys so what did Dante do on May 1st. Don't sweat it ... Dante answered the May Day call of Foods and Drinks.

Let's me take you on a ride

To be honest, I called some of my hommies from my Alma mata and I was like yo fam let's go crash a food fest and they were all in.

The journey started from our rendezvous point at the E-center(Ozone) in Yaba. The location is very close to the Lagos Island from there bon voyage.



Zoom zoom zoom and not so long we arrived at the location. Free entry but Food ain't free.



20180501_125408.jpg



Let's check out the venue

It is a wide land space at Oniru, Victoria Island Lagos that can accommodate more than 10,000 people.

20180501_125643.jpg

Let's find Our way around in this huge space

With this tour guide I can easily navigate my way around this place. I thought there will be crowd well I guess that's part of the perks of getting here a little early(12:30 pm... I lied). Let's go check out the main market. The direction is straight into the building. A lot is definitely cooking in there haha. So the organizers ensured that food items that will generate smokes are ll out doors and all kind of food stuff and drinks that may have issues if it rains are all in doors.




Picture Break

20180501_125956.jpg

The Main Arena

20180501_130253.jpg



In the first image above you can see the main entrance while the image to the left shows you which section of food you are presently at. All you have to do is look up to locate what you are craving for. The 3rd image to the right is a map of the arena or in this class the floor map of find that masterclass food. Also a good place to find your cravings.

I found my craving already so come with me to Toasties

20180501_131756.jpg

Here at Toasties met my cravings with no time to delay I placed my order for the Patty Melt sandwich.

Take a look at that. All of the workings and build up to this delicious sandwich is done right in your presence. Clean, neat and tidy. I just had to use the same meaning 3 times to lay some emphasis on their professionalism. It won't hurt to have a classic Chapman to down this yummy yummy.

The thick dough was toasted deeply with cheese. The feel is crispy fresh and crunchy. Oh yeah, the summation of all the ingredient is the perfect blend. Every bite is an adventure. Loving it!

20180501_141001.jpg

Tacos!!! Yaay!!! this trip won't be completed without having some Mexican food. It is very spicy and lovely. It has a very deep taste that almost compromised my taste bud. Lol just kidding for this was superb.

Let's take a look around this joint to see what will tickle my fancy.

Radio Stand
Children Arena



Fast Food Train
Photography Stand



Flush Drink
Exiting the Arena



I finally found something interesting called the Flush Drink at least that's what they called it. This super colossus flush sugar brain freeze drink blew my mind away with its awesomeness. Drink with caution if you find yourself this drink for it is pure sugar and ice. I was fixed up with the chocolate flavour. I had no regrets. My head was spinning so mans needed to get some heat. Let's go check outside. Oh boy, making my way out of the arena was tasking for the crowd here was enormous.

20180501_150224.jpg

Clear sky but do not be deceived friends. The temperature was off the chart reading about 33 degrees Celsius. The good thing is that the organizers anticipated such heat wave at the event so they made ready cold portable water.

20180501_145134.jpg

Water Break

Now that we are here, let's go find a new crave on the outdoors while we are at that some photography won't hurt.

20180501_162617.jpg

20180501_162648.jpg

20180501_162639.jpg

20180501_150559.jpg



I finally found something worth giving a try to munch on. The hyped Akara Burger. Akara is also known as bean cake, It is blended beans that has been seasoned and then fried. At Akaraje they made a special kind of burger called the akara burger. The dough is made out of Akara. After taking a bite of this gorgeous creativity I must tell you that it lived up to the hype.

20180501_163611.jpg

Akara Burger

I had a fun time at the food fest where I met a lot of friends and made new friends as well. You can trust that I got the details of some of the food joints because I would still love to go visit them. It was colourful event with more than 10 thousand people on ground. The traffic leaving the event was crazy, something that Lagosians are used to anyway.

20180501_150554.jpg

He took a shot of me

20180501_174150.jpg

Over 10 Thousand People

The experience was wonderful still I can't believe I left there hungry maybe I should have bought the long island at the liquor stand. I will just leave this with you all.

Till then Dante is here, No Fear

Cheers

20180501_134424_1.gif

Now it a complete food festival

Sort:  

Amazing photography I saw your last blog, you have these panacea and finesse for photography

Thanks buddy

I appreciate you keeping up with me 😁

plus your photography is amazing I love the concept behind them,

Simply magnificent run down of events and good use of stylings.. N
.

I'm sure you had a good time dear

Yeah sure I had a good time buddy

Adventures in food, looks immense, which are your favourite foods?, and i mean types as well as actual meals, i'm thinking Akara may be there :)

The toast was my fav... so awesome... I have never been a fan of Akara but I just had to have bite of the Akara Burger.

Local dishes weren't sold at the event . It was more for to give special dishes(restaurants or joints) more recognition

Ah a real journey into food then, a kinda dance off with cuisine

Epic and amazing dance off

Congratulations @dante31! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This is lovely... wanted to attend but I felt it’s going to be overcrowded

It was crowded ... very crowded

Wow! This is a bang! Was gonna be here on the 1st of May but couldn't make it after spending time with friends at the Lekki Conservation Center.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @peppermint24.

it was actually an interesting program. lots of fun bro...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33