Dichotomy

in #photography7 years ago

Hey Steemers,

I am a dichotomy. Most of us are, in some way or another. Human complexity often results in qualities that don't quite jive with each other. Maybe you hate mess, but also abhor cleaning; perhaps you wish to reduce the carbon footprint of your diet, but find it difficult to give up meat. We all contain dualities, some of which leave us in a state of confused hypocrisy.


I'll share one of my own... I consider myself an extrovert. I love people and feel energized by boisterous events. I come from a massive Irish Catholic family. I seek social connection and do well with chaos. I also struggle with anxiety, sometimes of the social sort. This causes me to turn inward, and act in introverted ways. I want to share an entry from my journal regarding my struggle with this. Before I do, please know that I am in NO WAY saying that extroverted tendencies are in ANY WAY superior. We exist in every color on the spectrum and all are stunning; I am simply describing my own.

Journal, (9/24/17):
"I have gotten it wrong and messed it up. I have always had this social anxiety, but have failed to recognize it as such lately. I am actual chickenshit scared of people, and care so much about (1) what they think of me and (2) changing my routine to allow for spontaneity. I'm not sure why I hide or when I decided it was okay to live on snacks of socializing instead of a full blown meal. There is a creeping anxiety that surfaces whenever I come close to a social event that is out of the ordinary. I think I need to feel this and do it anyway. I thrive when in social situations- I just have to et myself there. Approach the challenge. If it makes me uncomfortable, do it. My current approach is not working. I am craving adventure and connection. I feel robotic and vacant."

All this from someone my friends have described as "bubbly", "overly energetic", and "able to talk to anyone". This duality challenges my self- understanding: how do I best take care of myself? When do I honor each side of the yin yang? I even feel GUILT when I indulge one or the other- how absurd is that?

I am here to tell you that we will contend with contrast and conflict and confusion all our lives... It can and should be a light- hearted process, full of laughing at ourselves and continuously seeking truth. Here comes the reckoning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11