Mismatched Travel Diaries - Tasmania - Part 1 - Some Textures From The Land Down Under The Land Down Under.

in #photography6 years ago

My favourite type of photograph to take is a texturous, busy-but-quiet photo. In these images, so much is happening but also nothing at all. It sums up traveling so perfectly. So much is ever-changing, but with a myopic, fleeting view of a destination, it is hard to see the truth. Not every trip is life changing. Not every city is an #inspiration. Your fortune cookie quotes bore me. Your hot-takes don't matter as nearly as much as your money. Anything for the #story. Anything for the #hashtag. Anything for your own #growth. I have sought after this growth, but only every found myself the way I am. I accept myself, I accept my destination, I accept my camera.

Life within the picture frame.

Water distorts and pebbles seem to bend.

IMG_2520.JPG

click on image to see full size

While rusty railway pins lie useless and irrelevant.

IMG_2665.JPG

click on image to see full size

Huon Pine is piled high in the only remaining Huon pine mill.

IMG_2919.JPG

click on image to see full size

People build red brick houses.

IMG_2954.JPG

click on image to see full size

The sea life grows, not giving a shit about anything but food and tide.

IMG_3085.JPG

click on image to see full size

And the plants grow caring of nothing but wind and rain.

IMG_3044.JPG

click on image to see full size

This is reality in Tasmania. The frontier Australia. The most perfect mix between ancient and modern. Perfect in the way that it looks great, but dig a little deeper and clearly one is winning the fight. Huon pines are thousands of years old... on the edge of extinction. The penguins will follow... their food source being used to feed fish farms... Tasmanian devils, fighting a grave disease.... Eventually us humans will win... and lose.

Such Is Life

#DanedeBeau

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53