Whale Tale. Antarctica.

in #photography7 years ago

Part 16 in my Journey to Antarctica. If you enjoy the stories and photos, please comment and let me know!

PDS_4248.jpg

Being up close and personal with one of the largest creatures of on earth was impressive, to say the least.

They say Antarctica is intense, and it absolutely is. I woke up to the sound of our expedition leader's voice over the intercom saying, "Sorry to make this announcement so early, but if you are not outside, you should get out there." _
Totally worth it.

PDS_4129.jpg

Our ship had just arrived in Wilhelmina Bay, where we were greeted by an ice landscape in which the ice meets the sea. Sprawled on the frozen sea ice lay Weddell Seals, lounging about like tourists on a Florida beach. A few penguins marked in line along the edge of the ice occasionally deciding that sliding on their bellies was more efficient. But the sight to behold were the massive humpback whales just outside rising and falling from the surface of the water as they fed.

IMG_0211.jpg

Venturing out on the zodiacs, I found myself closer than I ever imagined being to such a behemoth, and I was enthralled as they would rise, exhale, and then dive back down, occasionally showing off their tail as they dive below once more.

PDS_3943.jpg

I wish there was more I could say about this encounter, but I find the feeling of awe and peace that I felt while watching these creatures to be difficult to describe. It is something meant to be experienced and appreciated for oneself, instead of through word of (virtual) mouth.

IMG_0218.jpg

The adventure continues.

PDS_3810-Pano2.jpg

Sort:  

This picture look like very beautiful. Thanks for Sharing This picture.

Thank you. Im glad you like it.

Such majestic animals! I look forward to reading more about what you were doing in Antarctica :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63167.88
ETH 3372.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45