What Is The Obsession About Climbing Mountains?

in #photography6 years ago

What is our obsession with climbing mountains ? Our natural instinct when seeing a mountain is to imagine ourselves at the top looking down. I think it's because we are all conquerors. We want to find challenges in life and prove that we can achieve them, this will make us feel successful; feel that we can go higher than others.

IMG_2054.JPG

One very interesting thing I found in China is that the philosophy is a bit different. I once heard someone tell me that the secret to success isn't to put yourself above others, it's to put yourself below others. He made a metaphor about the rain and water. Once it hits the top of the mountain it can only go one direction; which is down. Once it reaches the end of the mountain it will continue further and collect in streams. If you are a valley you need to do nothing and all this water will come to you automatically, you need only to place yourself lower.

I very much like this ideology, and to me it makes a lot of sense. If you want to be successful you need the energy and support from others to reach there. If you allow someone to excel you and feel good about himself he will not be scared to share of his experiences and knowledge, he will be glad to do that.

A valley is but a mountain reversed. We can be equally successful by learning to conquer the valley!

This is is my submission for @juliank #landscapephotography.

Sort:  

Wow, this is another perspective and I liked it. The more humble and down to earth you are the better it is.
Well as you said we at first like to reach at the top ,so here you can see me, though it is not clear but believe me it is me :)

22713588_817539315083683_2347158724873825511_o.jpg

@suf1an

I like that analogy.
So.. Ideally you want to be in the middle of the mountain. :)

I think everyone has their own preference what makes sense to them l. I have learned that both can be good, so like you say being in the middle is a good option :)

Passion

Passion is always important, it is the most important factor for success

Energy of love and passion

It's a very good ideology to me, as Proverbs says: "Pride is before a crash". I often see very wise advices in chinese proverbs!

definitely pride can be in our way many times and it will refrain us from seeing the bigger picture. I havent heard this proverb "Pride is before a crash" but i will be sure to remember it - thanks :)

It's in the Proverbs book (Bible)

In my opinion: everyone who has a lot of money can go anywhere, but only a strong and patient person who can reach the top of the mountain.

patience is key - i definitely agree

Beautiful view!

Thank you ! It's in Wenzhou . I didn't know it is so beautiful there

a Great shot and a great thought to go with it,

Sorry I havent been on much of recent was on vacation and didnt have much time for Steemit, but back home and getting back into my normal routine now

Thank you ! Good to Hear you had some vacation - that is well deserved. Also sometimes, even though it's fun, it's important to give Steemit a rest. Otherwise we will be kicked by our wife's hehe .

lol true about the wife’s

After the hills, our passion is much more than we all want to lose in natural situations

Yep, great analogy, love it. I also think you don't need to "choose" your paradigm and write it in stone. To both climb and conquer occasional mountains where appropriate and also heading for the valleys.

Another thought, looking internally, many challenges may be more the mountain type you-vs-you, while collective challenges and life-goals will fit better to the valley paradigm.

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around!💯

I definitely agree. Some of the biggest challenges is actually internal ones, breaking down our borders is important to realize our potential. I also agree that this would relate more to the climbing a mountain ideology , while like you say a valley better represent how we deal with others around us. tip! 0.1

Awesome comment ! Gott Nytt År :)

Great thoughts, agree totally, right back at ya 🙌🏼

Gott nytt år!

I think everyone in their lifetime should get to have that challenge of climbing a mountain. Also when you reach that mountain peak the only thing people think is I need to be grounded again and climb back down. I think this is where like a lot of people of gain quick early success in life can watch their empire built on sand quickly sink into nothing. It is like in our mindset when we reach our mountain peak where do we go and most people fall all the way back down like Humpty Dumpty. I do feel to gain more when standing on that mountain peak by imagining yourself standing on it with your tiptoes on one foot and let yourself fight against the adrenaline as you balance out that fear. A good example was watching the first Karate Kid film in the 1980s how the mentor washed all the weakness out of his pupil.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23