The Thousand Year Rose 🌹

in #photography7 years ago

The thousand year rose sounds like a fairytale, but if you have ever been in Germany you know it exist in real life. It grows on the wall of the Catholic cathedral in Hildesheim, and it's believed to be the oldest living rose on earth.

IMG_1066.JPG

The rose bush reaches a height of around 10 metres (33 ft) and documentation verifies its age at approximately 700 year, so it still has some years left before it can really live up to it's name. Either way, 700 years is pretty impressive.

The rose in the photograph is from the garden in my compound. I don't know the rose bush's age but I'm guessing it is quite young. Hopefully by posting this photo on Steemit I will help it to get eternal life on the blockchain, so it can one day also be called the The Thousand Year Rose.

IMG_1066.JPG

Sort:  

@dandesign86 so strange to think that the thousand year old rose will outlive us and quite a few generations to come :)

Hello Lucy
I encourage you to post some more content so more people can have a chance to up vote your content.

Thank you so much! We need more people like you in this world. I will certainly start soon :)

Right? It seems this rose has the recipe for everlasting beauty and life

This is the kind of post I enjoy:
educational - and I learnt something new
beautiful photos
humour

Thanks

That's an awesome comment thank you so much !

I have heard of the one in Germany but never seen it

Your one is a beauty and maybe now it can be the 100 year rose also

Thanks man ! Let's hope so hehe

And why not :)

Cheers

...I lived in Germany for quite some time as I am german but I did not know this

Well it's a bit of a weird fact to know haha But honestly I find it interesting that roses can get so old. I should get one of these for my wife so I don't have to buy new all the time

you should play the ball in her corner and tell her how many years german have their roses :-)

I love this! I've wanted to go there for so long. It's amazing how something so beautiful and seemingly fragile can be so strong and vigorous!

It's indeed very impressive! I also would really like to go and see it one day !

wow nice flower. i like white rose bro @dandesign

Nicely Super Photography..

Excellent Photography dear @dandesign86 & thanx you so much for sharing .

what an awesome history around a rose bush. :) . I have see 200 to 300 hundred year old rose bushes surviving in old British Bungalows in the hills. But 700 is awesome ! .. And your rose is pretty, @dandesign86 :)

Thank you. I also like this white rose it looks a bit different from what we usually see

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45