My DIY Chair Made Of Water Pipes

in #photography7 years ago

I had an idea some time ago when I saw copper water pipes. I loved the color of the copper and I really loved the detail of the connecting parts of the piping. My mind started running and I realized that it would be really cool to use this piping to make a nice chair.

untitled.1928.jpg

I decided to make a Cantilever chair, which I think is a classic design that would go with this style. The fact that there is only two legs gives more focus and attention to the joints which I wanted to stand out.

untitled.1931.jpg

This design as you can see it a 3D model but I am planning to make this chair when I move back to my home country and get a house.

untitled.1927.jpg

As a matter of fact I think the tubing structure can be used for making even more furniture, such as tables and shelfs.

untitled.1926.jpg

I like when I find something and use it for something different, it shows that there are no defined rules of how objects should fit or work, you can help to define and redefine the use of it. Hope you like the designs and please let me know what you think in the comments.

untitled.1929.jpg

Sort:  

That design looks very realistic. Well done. I like to model myself but need to practice my render and texture skills. You certainly have that down perfectly.

Thanks a lot man ! You should check out Keyshot. It is very simple rendering program. You just pull the material on top of the model and the there are standard light settings. What program do you use for modeling ?

I use Fusion360 and Blender for modeling. Thank you for the tip, I will look into it.

Very creative work...simple chair from simple material

Thanks a lot :)

Love it! I've been out of town for a few days so that's why you haven't heard from me lately, but I'm back home now and you were one of my first stops in getting caught back up on everything. Plus I got my voting power back ;)

It can be nice to take a little break from Steemit ! Glad to hear that you are back and powered up hehe :)

Awesome man. This chair has an​ elegant​ touch.
May I​ ask what program do you use and where is your home country?

Thanks buddy ! I'm from Sweden but I live in China. The 3D program I used is called Rhino 3D and the rendering program is called Keyshot. I learned these programs when I studied indus

I had a chair with the same design as this one and one of my friends who is a little overweight sat on it and it bent all the way down! So if you make this chair make sure the pipes are sturdy enough to support the weight!

Haha that is a good advice indeed and I think I might not be able to use copper. Perhaps I can use stainless steel and then i spray paint the surface with copper

hey Dan !, Beautiful concept. But please don't use copper, will fold on you. stainless would work and can "plate" with copper for that awesome look ... I love copper too ! btw, here is a great kit !
http://www.caswellplating.com/electroplating-anodizing/copper-plating-kits.html

Thanks.l buddy and I really think you are right l. Copper won't be able to hold a person, at least not me hehe stainless steel should be worth a try. Thanks for the advice buddy

This would be a great addition to your future coffee table book!

Hehe wow you have a good memory ! This one is definitely going into the book :)

You made a very nice chair, but it has one draw, since I have a lot of pounds, I do not know what would happen if I sat on it?

We are in the same seat haha We just have to make it str

This looks very cool. I like the copper but as already mentioned it may be a little too weak for chairs. I think your idea of the stainless steel would be cool. Not sure about painting it copper, I have never tried to paint stainless steel but I would like to see how it turns out when you make one. It reminds me of a chair made of pvc pipes but I like the metals better. More of an industrial feel to them. Thanks for sharing you did a great job rendering this one.

Thanks a lot for your comment :) painting copper might be hard as you don't get the same kind of natural reflections. Maybe it doesn't have to be copper, it might look good in chrome ?

I found something that might give you some ideas on painting the copper over stainless steel. Here's a link to one way to do it. http://homeguides.sfgate.com/make-stainless-steel-look-like-copper-bronze-76946.html
Hope that helps.

Thanks a lot that is very nice of you :) This is definitely something I will read up on :)

You're welcome. Keep up the great work. :)

Hmmm. I'm not sure about that one. I would have to research that. Chrome would be ok but it reminds me of the 70's style a little. It is sleek and polished looking in chrome but don't think that is the look you are going for. I like the idea of the copper just not sure how to paint it over stainless steel to make it last. But if you like the look of chrome then I say go for it, I'm sure it will look awesome whichever way you decide to go with it.

I recently made myself a desk from a MDF board and I think this chair design might be exactly what I need to continue DIY-ing my way into having a fully equipped workstation. Plus, I'm sure the dining room will be happy to have it's chair back...

Also, I absolutely didn't notice it was a render! I mean, I admit I don't have the most discerning eye but it really does look good.

Upvoted!

Wow I really do appreciate that man :) hehe Doing some DIY is always fun and I would love to see your workstation once it's finished and you replaced the chair hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65