The Mundane as Art: Moss and Lichen: Wistmans Wood

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMGP0792.JPG

The Mundane as Art

This is my entry for the round nine of The Mundane as Art competition. This stunning photograph was taken in Wistmans Wood in 2010. It's by far the most spectacular growth of moss and lichen I have ever seen in my life!

I absolutely adore mosses and lichens. They make wonderful subjects for photography, I love the soft squidgy feeling of moss under my feet and Oakmoss, a species of lichen, is my favourite base note in perfumes. I take lots of photographs of nature and mosses are a frequent focus but choosing the one for this competition was easily done. The amazing moss in Wistmans Wood left a lasting impression and I still consider it my best ever photograph of this kind.

Wistmans Wood

Wistmans Wood is located in Dartmoor, England. It's a very small oak woodland famous for its ancient moss and lichen. In addition to being a part of a National Nature reserve, it is also a Site of Special Scientific Interest. The oldest oaks appear to be 400–500 years old and the woodland is believed to be what has remained of the Dartmoor Forest which itself is as old as 7000 BC.

DSC01472.JPG

It is not surprising at all, judging from its location and age, that these woods are surrounded by myths, legends and folklore. The association with magic and the other world is believed to originate with pagan ancestors. Druids, in particular. The woodland was supposedly their sacred groove where they performed many rituals and ceremonies.

IMGP0780.JPG

According to many, Wistmans Wood is the most haunted place in Dartmoor. Accounts tell of devils and witches stalking the nights around the old oaks. Some unlucky travellers encountered ghostly black hounds with glowing red eyes. A person venturing out here must be careful not to offend the residing fairies.

IMGP0791.JPG

It is not difficult to understand where these stories come from, when one strolls through such a unique place. The green carpets of moss and bizarre structures it forms around the trees could as well be the living quarters of many invisible creatures. Perhaps some of them are forms of art left for us to admire. At least, it's nice to think so.

IMGP0796.JPG


Photographed with Fujifilm FinePix S2500HD Camera. Edited using Gimp

Sort:  

I'm loving all the submissions for Mundane as Art. But your images of moss here are truly outstanding. Resteemed and following. 🍀

Thank you. I really enjoy mossy flood on steemit thanks to this competition. So many great photos. :)

Finding a undiscoverable place is a best thing in photography. You did it @dana-varahi. The place looks like heaven. Thanks for sharing.
Resteemed and Followed you.

Also thanking @allyinspirit for brining me in here with a Resteem. :))

Thank you very much. :)

I noted your entry for the contest and decided to stop by to see your post. Glad I did. What imagination for the forest...great myths and stories to be told for ages.

Nicely written photo essay!

I'm glad you enjoyed the write up. I like to add some context to a photograph, especially when there is so much to it. Thank you for stopping by. :)

Amazing photography dear, i appreciate your nature..
and also good your art, all the best my dear.....

So loved this woods. Apparently it is also home for many adders, the UKs only venomous snake...

It would have been great to see one and snap a photo! :)

Yes. Maybe one day we will return. So far the only time I saw an adder it was pretty scarey though. Mind you, I was only a child at the time.

wow! just mindblowing nature with beautiful article nice post. great work keep it up friends.

Charismatic beauty Upvote , followed and resteem

Now this is stunning! Definitely one of the best in this contest. I don't believe i had a chance to witness moss in such a big size. It looks like the UK weather is perfect for moss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60