Sparrowhawk's breakfast

in #photography6 years ago

DSCF1123small.JPG

Living in a suburb of Inverness, in the Scottish Highlands, has its advantages. Being able to observe a Sparrowhawk eating its breakfast from my living room is one of them!

DSCF1116small.JPG

Since we moved in back in 2012, our garden has been increasing in number of birds, especially sparrows. Providing plenty of water, food and shelter really boosted a number of little birds. So much so, that our population now feeds this gorgeous top predator fairly regularly.

DSCF1106small.JPG

Usually we can see it flying pass and sometime diving into a hedge, other times it's flying off with its catch. Very rarely it perches nearby to observe the garden. Even more rarely it decides to eat it's catch in the garden.

DSCF1103small.JPG

It's amazing to see this magnificent bird perched so comfortably near my window. I love knowing that the outdoor space I take care of gives a sanctuary to so many different species. If it was not for the sparrows this bird wouldn't be here.

DSCF1113small.JPG


Photographed with Fujifilm FinePix S2500HD Camera. Edited using Gimp

Sort:  

i remembered when i was a child, i love this birds so much, my neighbor once rear it. thanks for sharing

I hadn't actually realised that West Africa had its own type of sparrowhawk, the Chestnut Flanked Sparrowhawk:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chestnut-flanked_sparrowhawk

Very impressive looking!

Amazing photography. I like this birds. I appreciate your animals. thanks for sharing post.

Ah! Glad you finally got a good photo of this one! It has been amazing to watch over the years...

Wow.. amazing 🐦 bird photography
I like it this animals, I appreciate your valuable post.........

Great post.
I like 🐦

Thanks,,, my dear friend.......

Great Post! Get Free Upvotes! Plus you get 0.1 STEEM Free just to signup! http://j.gs/Anmi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64