A stare down with an Elephant

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

It was December 2017 and I with 3 of my friends went on a little road trip across the southern part of South Africa.

On this road trip, we stayed in the Addo Elephant Park for a few days and drove through the park in a little Ford Figo. Now bear in mind, this is a very small hatchback vehicle so driving in an elephant park with this kind of car is a bit “extremely adventurous” if you ask me.

It’s basically like telling the elephants to not sneeze in our direction because we might even blow away.

So, moving on, and getting to the point of the story, this is the picture I want to share with you... (see below)

Mr "Starer" himself

As you can see, this isn’t a small baby elephant that wants to play. This is a full-grown bull elephant.

Before the staring contest we were standing idle on the road with my little “adventurous” car and looking at a herd of elephants passing us by. In a mere matter of seconds when the herd has passed us we thought it was clear to drive away. Just bear in mind that on the right side of the vehicle, this massive beast walked past us: (see below)

Mr "Let me just pass by your car making it shake "

By the look of this picture you know, this isn’t a small puppy and if you look in the mirror you can see one of his females walking ahead so you know he was ready to protect them at all cost.

Oh, AND he was in musk! Basically, means they have an overdrive in testosterone and will do anything to protect their young and females. So this bad boy walked past us on the right and a few seconds later the “rival” monster came from the bushes to have a little staring contest with us.

Who do you think would have won? A several of ton elephant with tusks or a small white Ford Figo that had more bark than bite?

So to end this photography story I’d like to say that it was absolutely worth the whole experience. It is a memory that will stick with me forever and I still think my heart is running around in that elephant park somewhere when it jumped out of my chest and ran off.

To those thinking of visiting the Addo Elephant Park, I HIGHLY recommend it. A unique experience once.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47