I got my first job! Its In a botanic garden!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, hope you are all doing good. I have just got a job as a summer helper at Agder university`s botanic garden and nature museum. It is the most beautiful place you can imagine, I just love it. One of my main tasks is to work in the gardens clone archive for historical roses. What job could be better? Be outside all day with hundreds of roses. The garden I work on used to be a private mansion, called Gimle gård, and the last woman who lived there donated the whole place to the state, to make sure the historical monument was protected for our future.

Outside the old house, there is a small historical rose garden, but the real beauty is the clone archive. A clone archive is a place where plants are kept to save them for the future. It is a part of a national organization called Plantearven, which means the plant heritage. The clone archive is split in three, one with modern roses, one with historical roses, and one with roses that were common in southern Norway.

However, roses are not the only plant in the garden. Another section is the millennium garden. This wonderful place contains a variety of plants that have been used in Norway from the Viking age and until now. It is placed close the monastery garden, with different plants brought to Norway by the monastic orders in the middle ages. In addition to all of this, they also own some herbs, and one of the most impressing cacti collections in the southern part of Norway.
I will now show you a few of the stunning roses in the garden. Please comment down below if you have some suggestions regarding which plants you want pictures about in future posts. Upvotes and resteems are always welcomed! If you liked it, and want to see more beautiful flowers, please follow!

All rights reserved, but as long as you leave a link to where you found them, the images are free to use for private purposes. Just dont sell them, except that, most uses are ok. If you are unsure, just ask!
Photographer: David Frøytland (me)

The first rose I will show you is the "gärtnerfreude". It has a bright pink-red color, and it is gorgeous. Sadly it doesnt smell anything, like most of the other newer rose varieties. It was bred by Kordes in 1991, and this particular rose bush was planted in the garden in 2014.

The next rose is a rosebush variety called "Applejack". Its color is much lighter than the gärtnerfreude and has the classical light pink that is so commonly found in bush roses. It is not the oldest rose, it was bred in 1973, and its not the biggest rose either. However, when dozens of the bloom at once at the same bush, its a really beautiful sight. I was a bit too late to get them when it was at its brightest, but they are still very beautiful.

We have now seen two pink roses, so I think a white would be nice now. "Louise Bugnet" was bred by bugnet in 1960. This is also a rosebush.

I could continued the whole night, please comment if you want me to post more! Before I end this post I will show you the picture of one last rose, 'Madame A. Meilland', a well-known tea-hybrid that was developed in the late 1930 in france. In Norway and USA it is named peace, since it was finished in 1945, the last year of the war, and the first year of peace.


Thats it, thanks for visiting, please leave an upvote and follow if you liked it, resteem if you loved it, and leave a comment to tell me what you think, and what want to see next. I will probably post a few more roses anyway, but I can show you the other plants as well if you want to see them. Hope to see all of you in my next post!

Sort:  

Very good photography and you have also drafted your post very nicely.
Keep it up.

Thanks, I am doing my best. I think I will make another post with more pictures soon, do you think some more roses would be good?

Na keep on changing..there are so things to capture in camera

Congratulations @dafro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I know, I love working here!

I look on your photo that u have enjoyable in capturing and challenging @dafro. U deserve to get two thumbs and upvote. I hope you have time to take shot with me. Visit my blog for latest post, i hope u like it. Have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64333.84
ETH 2760.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65