Hiking along a small river in Belgium

in #photography6 years ago

These are some pictures I took two years ago when I went on a hike in my native country, Belgium. Some of them turned out really nice, so I thought I'd share them here with you all.


Swans

I came across these beautiful swans protecting their future offspring. I walk through the area pretty frequently, but had never even noticed that there were swans there.

Beavers

This isn't something we would usually see here in Belgium, but apparently beavers were reintroduced into the ecosystem a couple of years ago. They've managed to completely shift the water-level in this small stream, as you can see in the picture.

Here's another one of the structures they've built in a side-stream of the main river.

Belgium

From the outside, Belgium might look like a small, grayish country that is completely void of any nature. Our population density is pretty large, but even in the most densely populated area's you can still find places like these. These pictures were taken in the northern part of Belgium, near Leuven.

Next trip

I will be doing the exact same hike once it's spring, just to compare what the area looks like now. The beaver dam has sadly been destroyed by vandals, so I'm guessing the beavers moved to another area.


Upvote, comment or follow if you like this post and want to see more! -- @daan


Image sources

Picture 1Picture 2
Picture 3Picture 4

All pictures were taken by myself and uploaded on Imgur.

Sort:  

I love Belgium. I have some friends that are from Kortryk (sp). Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56