Certainties of glass

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Certainties of glass

.
original poetry
and photos
.
@d-pend

light-certainties-thumbnail.jpg


Certainties of glass


Towering certainties of glass
which mark me well,
through lightward pass
on paths unpaved by starry humes.

Lovelorn naiad, dreamèd bloom,
be raised by light's e'er-giving chroma;
Shirkèd, shrink from blinding soma.

Astroturbid rays of mine:
away, allay a blur divine.

Return to me, all-certain day—
no crystal truth can stay.


purple silk.jpg


Rushing shards.jpg


brushbroom.jpg


etheric butterflies in flight.jpg


Poetry and photos
by @d-pend
10/21/18
.

photos taken
with iPhone 8+
and lightly edited


Lava diamonds.jpg


emergent clarities.jpg



Sort:  

Greetings, @d-pend
I don't know if you drink; my guess is you don't, but it occurred to me that amid these late changes in your life you might be lucubrating while drinking a shot or two, on the rocks. The images made me think of ice, ice cubes melting in a glass. With all the distortions and blurred vision that implies.
Who said crystal is always clear? People like to refer to honesty in those terms.
Neither is truth, or our knowledge of anything.
Maybe that’s the “humes” alluded in the first stanza. David Hume, who rejected the possibility of certainty in knowledge.
The invocation to the water nymph—neglected, forgotten—to emerge from darkness; from the enclosure of the body, the limitations of earthly life.
The poem suggest that whatever truth we come up with, whatever certainty we presume of becomes nothing but a distortion of higher powers, of higher truths.

Astroturbid rays of mine:
away, allay a blur divine

A final lines sound like an invocation to the primeval state, the idyllic, pastoral transparency of man in direct connection to the cosmos, if ever was. “No crystal truth can stay”, a fragile affirmation, either because it can break or because it can be tainted, blurred or even melted.

@hlezama & @d-pend,

I don't know if you drink;

I do.

my guess is you don't,

My guess is that he does. Have you ever read any of his poetry?

but it occurred to me that amid these late changes in your life you might be lucubrating while drinking a shot or two, on the rocks.

He switched from wine to tequila ... and swallowed the worm.

Quill

Hahaha. I'll trust your experienced judgement

"Certainties of glass" suggests that the truth does not necessarily have to be true. The relativity of what is seen has to do with the eyes that look at it and what we presume to be true is only a version of reality.

Astroturbid rays of mine:
away, allay a blur divine.

Return to me, all-certain day—
no crystal truth can stay.

These lines respond to my intrigue about what goes into the previous poem ".Don't go."

I believe that it is the inner light, rarefied by the outer misery. But, that little by little it returns with the cosmic lights captured in everything that produces or reflects the light.
Enchanting images. I've always been fascinated by abstract art, but full of light and saturated with twilight colors, it's magical, my look is just kidnapped.
Well done, @d-pend! Great!

"Certainties of glass" suggests that the truth does not necessarily have to be true. The relativity of what is seen has to do with the eyes that look at it and what we presume to be true is only a version of reality.

The paradox that the more certain we are about something mentally, the more constricted our vision, though perhaps more discerning.

I believe that it is the inner light, rarefied by the outer misery. But, that little by little it returns with the cosmic lights captured in everything that produces or reflects the light.

There is a subtle feeling throughout life that this is a movie about an adventure, and a returning home. This is a redemption story, and we are the protagonist and antagonist in one, the hero and the villain.

Enchanting images. I've always been fascinated by abstract art, but full of light and saturated with twilight colors, it's magical, my look is just kidnapped.

When I was photographing these my mind went quiet and the imagination soared, reminding me of my great fascination with lights of every color and sort as a child. Everyday magic still exists, if we know how to see it.

To be conceived and raised by a virtuous person, gives you the responsibility to walk the path of good with sensitivity to nature

You really like that new phone @d-pend?

This was a fun poem to read and far out pictures.
I got the message crystal clear...
about as clear as sand.

This tells me the shape of our amorphous future.

Why fret? Just enjoy the rainbow.

Yeah, I'm really enjoying it and trying to take #smartphonephotography more seriously! My older phone wasn't quite the quality level for me to feel good about using it for Steemit, but the 8+ is decent enough to "emulate" a DSLR, though it has many limitations.

Thanks for adding your paradoxical ponderings @mineopoly! :-D

Pondering comes much too natural for me, but you're welcome.

My phone is a Pantech Sky Vega ready for the graveyard. It is like an imitation Galaxy S5.
It still works though and I have the cheapest phone bill in our family.

I've been busy with the contract renewal period for work. Today was an open class for evaluation. That's probably the most stressful part of the deal. But the part that eats me is my own selfish ambition telling me to quit the job and work with Ned Schneebly at Horace Green prep school.

Oh, I've got terminal Stickittothemaneosis.

Magical images and evocative words. I can tell that you feel

Posted using Partiko iOS

Dear @d-pend sir!
Dazzling photography.Making phenomenal scene of colourful glass,with adding beautiful lines.

enjoying those pics with all the words around them haha Certainties of Glass not certain but actually ephemeral

Certainties of Glass not certain but actually ephemeral

Good summary ;-)

Looking at the pictures, I imagine that that is how confusion has to look like.

Awesome photos

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38